Skip to Main Content

Referencing

Need help with referencing styles? Start with this helpful guide.

Print book

Bibliography

Last name, First name, and First name Last name, Title of Book, edn (Location of publication: Publisher, Year of publication)

Curthoys, Ann, and John Docker, Is History Fiction?, 2nd edn (Sydney: University of New South Wales Press, 2010)

In-text

...as argued by Curthoys and Docker.1

...as demonstrated.1

First Footnote

1 Ann Curthoys and John Docker, Is History Fiction?, 2nd edn (Sydney: University of New South Wales Press, 2010), p. 67.

Subsequent Footnotes

5 Curthoys and Docker, p. 69. 

Notes

  • If the author's given name is provided, use the full name
  • Words in the titles and subtitles are capitalized, except articles and prepositions
  • If the book is not a first edition, place the edition number after the title of the book e.g. Book Title, 2nd edn
  • The first author's name is reversed for the bibliography but names of collaborating authors or editors are not reversed
  • The first footnote includes all of the publication information
  • Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author’s surname and the page number(s)
  • A full stop should not be used at the end of a bibliography entry but should be used at the end of a footnote

  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and bibliography format

Edited book

Bibliography

Last name, First name, and First Name Last Name, eds, Title of Book, Edn (Location of publication: Publisher, Year of Publication)

Hamilton, Saskia, ed, The Letters of Robert Lowell (New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2005)

In-text

... as mentioned previously.4

... proposed by Hamilton.4

First Footnote

4 The Letters of Robert Lowell, ed. by Saskia Hamilton (New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2005), p. ix.

Subsequent Footnotes

5 Letters of Robert Lowell, p. 77.

Notes

  • If the editor's given name is provided, use the full name
  • For collections and editions, the title comes first in the footnote not the editor
  • Words in the titles and subtitles are capitalized, except articles and prepositions
  • If the book is not a first edition, place the edition number after the title of the book, e.g. Book Title, 2nd edn
  • The first footnote includes all of the publication information
  • Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author’s surname and the page number(s)
  • A full stop should not be used at the end of a bibliography entry but should be used at the end of a footnote

  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and bibliography format

Chapter in an edited book

Bibliography

Chapter Author's Surname, First name, 'Chapter Title', in Title of Book, ed. by First name Last name (Location of Publication: Publisher's Name, Year of Publication), pp. xx-xx

Unwin, Timothy, 'The Fiction of Science, or the Science of Fiction', in Jules Verne: Narratives of Modernity, ed. by Edmund J. Smyth (Liverpool: Liverpool University Press, 2005), pp. 46-59

In-text

... this is stated by Unwin.2

... as demonstrated.2

First Footnote

2 Timothy Unwin, 'The Fiction of Science, or the Science of Fiction',  in Jules Verne: Narratives of Modernity, ed. by Edmund J. Smyth (Liverpool: Liverpool University Press, 2005), pp. 46-59 (p. 50).

Subsequent Footnotes

4 Unwin, pp. 46-59 (p. 52).

Notes

  • If the author's given name is provided, use the full name
  • Words in the titles and subtitles are capitalized, except articles and prepositions
  • Chapter titles are placed in single inverted commas
  • If the book is not the first edition, place the edition number after the title of the book, e.g. Book Title, 2nd edn
  • A full stop should not be used at the end of a bibliography entry but should be used at the end of a footnote
  • The first author name is inverted for the bibliography but not for the footnotes
  • Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author's surname and the page number(s)
  • For multiple authors, check the author layout table for in-text and Bibliography format

Ebook

Bibliography

Author Last name, First name, and Author First name Last name, Title of Book (Location of publication: Publisher, year of publication) Supplier/Platform/file ebook

Marion, Jean-Luc, The Visible and the Revealed: Jean-Luc Marion, trans. by Christina M. Gschwandtner and others (New York: Fordham University Press, 2008) ACLS Humanities ebook

In-text

... this is demonstrated by Marion.1

... as discussed.1

First Footnote 

1 Jean-Luc Marion, The Visible and the Revealed: Jean-Luc Marion, trans. by Christina M. Gschwandtner and others (New York: Fordham University Press, 2008), p. 49. ACLS Humanities ebook.

Subsequent Footnotes 

3 Marion,  p. 51.

Notes

  • If the author's given name is provided, use the full name
  • Words in the titles and subtitles are capitalized, except articles and prepositions
  • Include the name of ebook platform/supplier
  • Indicate type of digital file, e.g. ebook
  • If the book is not a first edition, place the edition number after the title of the book, e.g. Book Title, 2nd edn
  • The first author name is inverted for the bibliography but not for the footnotes
  • The first footnote includes all of the publication information
  • Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author’s surname and the page number(s)

  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and bibliography format

Chapter in an edited ebook

Bibliography

Chapter Author's Last Name, First Name, 'Chapter Title', in Title of Book, ed. by First name Last name (Location of Publication: Publisher's Name, Year of Publication), pp. xx-xx. Supplier/Platform/file ebook

Wroe, Andrew, 'The Culture War: Is America Polarizing?', in Issues in American Politics: Polarized Politics in the Age of Obama, ed. by John Dumbrell (London: Routledge, 2013), pp. 63-97. EBSCOhost ebook

In-text

... this is demonstrated by Wroe.1

... as discussed.1

First Footnote

1 Andrew Wroe, 'The Culture War: Is America Polarizing?', in Issues in American Politics: Polarized Politics in the Age of Obama, ed. by John Dumbrell. (London: Routledge, 2013), pp. 63-97 (p. 89). EBSCOhost ebook.

Subsequent Footnotes

5 Wroe, p. 90.

Notes

  • If the author's given name is provided, use the full name
  • Words in the titles and subtitles are capitalized, except articles and prepositions
  • Include the name of ebook platform/supplier
  • Indicate type of digital file, e.g. ebook
  • Chapter titles are placed in single inverted commas
  • If the book is not the first edition, place the edition number after the title of the book, e.g. Book Title, 2nd edn
  • A full stop should not be used at the end of a bibliography entry but should be used at the end of a footnote
  • The first author name is inverted for the bibliography but not for the footnotes
  • Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author's surname and the page number(s)
  • For multiple authors, check the author layout table for in-text and Bibliography format

Encyclopedias & dictionaries

Bibliography

Author's surname, first name, Title, X vol(s) (Location of Publication: Name of Publisher, Year of Publication) <doi or URL>

Ages, 2 vols (Cambridge: James Clarke, 2000)

Strobel, Karl, 'Central Anatolia', inThe Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Archaeology <https://www.oxfordreference.com/> [accessed 5 April 2021]

In-text

... according to Vauchez.1 

... as explained.3

First Footnote

1 Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, ed. by Andre Vauchez, Michael Lapidge, Richard Barrie Dobson and others, 2 vols (Cambridge: James Clarke, 2000), II, 109-22.

3 Karl Strobel, 'Central Anatolia', in TheOxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Archaeology <https://www.oxfordreference.com/> [accessed 5 April 2022]

Notes

  • If there is no listed author, start the entry from the title
  • If the reference work is online, add the doi or the url. For a url include the access date
  • In a multi volume work, include the volume number in small capital roman numerals in footnote
  • Omit 'p.' or 'pp.' when page numbers follow directly after volume number 
  • For multiple authors, check the author layout table for in-text and Bibliography format