Referencing

Need help with referencing styles? Start with this helpful guide.

Print book

Reference list

Author AA. Title of book. Edition number. Location of Publication: Publisher; Year of Publication

1. Henderson GM. Global humanity in the 21st century. Washington DC: Humanity Press; 2016

In-text

Henderson (1) ...................

Global warming...............(1)

Notes

  • Vancouver is a numbered system. All sources appearing in the reference list are listed in the order that they are first cited in the text (not alphabetically)
  • The reference list is a numbered list and should be single spaced with one line space between each entry
  • Only the author's initials are included regardless of the presentation of the author's name in the source document. Use no more than two initials
  • The citations here use round brackets, but square brackets, [1], or superscript¹ may also be used
  • The citation numbers are static. The same number should be used for the same source each time it is cited
  • Capitalise the first letter of the first word of the title only. The first word of the subtitle is not capitalised
  • Capitalise the "v" in Volume for a book title
  • For multiple authors, check the author layout table for in-text and Reference List format

Edited book

Reference list

Editor AA, Editor BB, editors. Title of work: Subtitle. edition(if not the first). Vol.(if a multivolume work). Place of publication: Publisher; Year. p. page number(s) (if appropriate).

3. Gilstrap LC, Cunningham FG, Van Dorsten JP, editors. Operative obstetrics. 2nd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill; 2002. 

In-text

Gilstrap et al. (3) ..............................

In ....................... (3)

Notes

  • Vancouver is a numbered system. All sources appearing in the reference list are listed in the order that they are first cited in the text (not alphabetically)
  • The reference list is a numbered list and should be single spaced with one line space between each entry
  • Only the author's initials are included regardless of the presentation of the author's name in the source document. Use no more than two initials
  • The citations here use round brackets, but square brackets, [], or superscript may also be used
  • The citation numbers are static. The same number should be used for the same source each time it is cited
  • Capitalise the first letter of the first word of the title only. The first word of the subtitle is not capitalised
  • Capitalise the "v" in Volume for a book title
  • For multiple authors, check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Chapter in an edited book

Reference list

Author AA. Title of the chapter. In Editor AA. editor. Title of the book. Place of publication: Publisher; Year. Page range.

4. Ferres K. Idiot box: Television, urban myths and ethical scenarios. In: Craven I, editor. Australian cinema in the 1990s. London: Frank Cass; 2001:175-188.

In-text

 

Ferres (4) ...........................................

The .......................... (4)

Notes

  • Vancouver is a numbered system. All sources appearing in the reference list are listed in the order that they are first cited in the text (not alphabetically)
  • The reference list is a numbered list and should be single spaced with one line space between each entry
  • Only the author's initials are included regardless of the presentation of the author's name in the source document. Use no more than two initials
  • The citations here use round brackets, but square brackets, [], or superscript may also be used
  • The citation numbers are static. The same number should be used for the same source each time it is cited
  • Capitalise the first letter of the first word of the title only. The first word of the subtitle is not capitalised
  • Capitalise the "v" in Volume for a book title
  • For multiple authors, check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Ebook

Reference list

Author AA. Title of book [Internet]. Location: Publisher; Year of publication [cited YYYY Mon DD]. Available from: url or doi

5. Swenson P. Taylor NA. Online teaching in the digital age [Internet]. United States of America: Sage publications; 2012 [cited 2018 Aug 22]. Available from: http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781452244174.

In-text

Swenson et al. (5) ........................................

This....................................(5)

Notes

  • Vancouver is a numbered system. All sources appearing in the reference list are listed in the order that they are first cited in the text (not alphabetically)
  • The reference list is a numbered list and should be single spaced with one line space between each entry
  • Only the author's initials are included regardless of the presentation of the author's name in the source document. Use no more than two initials
  • The citations here use round brackets, but square brackets, [], or superscript may also be used
  • The citation numbers are static. The same number should be used for the same source each time it is cited
  • Capitalise the first letter of the first word of the title only. The first word of the subtitle is not capitalised
  • Capitalise the "v" in Volume for a book title
  • For multiple authors, check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Chapter in an edited ebook

Reference list

Chapter Author AA. Chapter title. In: Editor AA. editor. Title:subtitle. Location: Publisher; year. Page range. [cited year month date]. Available from URL or DOI:

6. Gorber SC. Tremblay MS. Self-report and direct Measures of health: bias and implications. In: Shephard R. Tudor-Locke C. editors. The objective monitoring of physical activity: contributions of accelerometry to epidemiology, exercise science and rehabilitation. Switzerland: Springer; 2016.p.369-376. DOI:10.1007/978-3-319-29577-0_14

In-text

Gorber et al. (6) .........................................

Self ............................................ (6)

Notes

  • Vancouver is a numbered system. All sources appearing in the reference list are listed in the order that they are first cited in the text (not alphabetically)
  • The reference list is a numbered list and should be single spaced with one line space between each entry
  • Only the author's initials are included regardless of the presentation of the author's name in the source document. Use no more than two initials
  • The citations here use round brackets, but square brackets, [], or superscript may also be used
  • The citation numbers are static. The same number should be used for the same source each time it is cited
  • Capitalise the first letter of the first word of the title only. The first word of the subtitle is not capitalised
  • Capitalise the "v" in Volume for a book title
  • For multiple authors, check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Encyclopedias & dictionaries

Reference list

Dictionary

Dictionary title, edition. Place of publication: Publisher; year. Title of entry; page number.

7. Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary. 31st ed. Philadelphia: Saunders; 2003. Heart; p. 342.

Online dictionary

Dictionary title [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; year. Title of entry; [cited YYYY mon DD]; [# of pages/screens]. Available from: URL

8. Concise medical dictionary, 9th ed [Internet]. Oxford: Oxford University Press; 2015. Abarticulation; [cited 2018 Aug 23]; [1 screen]. Available from: www.oxfordreference.com

Encyclopedia

Author AA, Author BB. Encyclopedia title [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; year. Title of article; [cited YYYY mon DD]; [# of pages/screens]. Available from: URL

9. Mackay IR, Rose NR, Ledford DK, Lockey RF. Encyclopedia of medical immunology allergic diseases. New York: Springer; 2014. Allergen Immunotherapy; [cited 2018 Aug 22]; [4 screens]. Available from: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-1-4614-9194-1_525

In-text

The Concise medical dictionary (8) defines ..........................

Congestive .............................. (7)

Notes

  • Vancouver is a numbered system. All sources appearing in the reference list are listed in the order that they are first cited in the text (not alphabetically)
  • The reference list is a numbered list and should be single spaced with one line space between each entry
  • Only the author's initials are included regardless of the presentation of the author's name in the source document. Use no more than two initials
  • The citations here use round brackets, but square brackets, [], or superscript may also be used
  • The citation numbers are static. The same number should be used for the same source each time it is cited
  • Capitalise the first letter of the first word of the title only. The first word of the subtitle is not capitalised
  • For multiple authors, check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format