Referencing

Need help with referencing styles? Start with this helpful guide.

Print book

Reference list

Single author

Author, AA Year, Title of book, xth edn, Publisher, Location.
Rahman, AR 2016, The Australian accounting standards review board: the establishment of its participative review process, Routledge, London.

In-text

..............(Rahman 2016, p. 49)
Rahman (2016, p. 49) claims that........

Notes

  • The title of the book is always in italics
  • Include the edition number shortened to "edn" if not the first or only edition
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Edited book

Reference list

Editor, AA & Editor, BB (eds) Year, Title of book, Publisher, Location.
Arnold, DG, Beauchamp, TL & Bowie, NE (eds) 2013, Ethical theory and business, 9th edn, Pearson, Boston.

In-text

...............(Arnold, Beauchamp & Bowie 2013, p. 18)
Arnold, Beauchamp and Bowie (2013, p. 18) state that.............

Notes

  • Use editor's name in place of the author and add (ed) or (eds)
  • The title of the book is always in italics
  • Include the edition number shortened to "edn" if not the first or only edition
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Chapter in an edited book

Reference list

Author, AA & Author, BB Year, ‘Title of chapter’, in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, Publisher, Location, pp. xxx-xxx.

Warner, R 2010, 'Giving feedback on assignment writing to international students: the integration of voice and writing tools', in WM Chan, KN Chin, M Nagami & T Suthiwan (eds), Media in foreign language teaching and learning, De Gruyter, Boston, pp. 355-382.

In-text

..................(Warner 2010, p. 360)
Warner (2010, p. 360) argues...............

Notes

  • Use the chapter author/s in-text and as the first author/s in the reference list
  • The chapter title is put in 'Single quotations'
  • Enter any editor’s names with the initials first
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Ebook

Reference list

Author, AA Year, Title of book, Publisher, Location. viewed Day Month Year, Database Name.
Seago, WE 2016, The tax aspects of acquiring a business, Business Expert Press, New York, viewed 12 October 2018, IG Publishing.

In-text

...................(Seago 2016, p. 52) or
Seago (2016, p. 52) explains......

Notes

  • Enter publisher and location details as per print book
  • If there is no print version of an ebook and no place of publication can be located, only list the publisher
  • If retrieved from an ACU database, use the database name e.g. Ebook central
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Chapter in an edited ebook

Reference list

With doi

Author, AA & Author, BB Year, ‘Title of chapter’, in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, Publisher, Location, pp. xxx-xxx, viewed Day Month Year, <doi: xxx>.
Boatright, J 2016, 'Why risk management failed', in AG Malliaris, L Shaw, H Shefrin (eds), The global financial crisis and its aftermath: hidden factors in the meltdown, Oxford University Press, New York, pp. 384-398, viewed 15 August 2018, <doi:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199386222.003.0017>.

Without doi

Author, AA & Author, BB Year, ‘Title of chapter’, in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, Publisher, Location, pp. xxx-xxx, viewed Day Month Year, <http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> or Database Name.
Fernandes, DS & Machado, CS, 'Human resource management in the health system: in the never-ending quest for productivity improvement', in C Machado & JP Davim, JP (eds) 2017, Productivity and organizational management, De Gruyter, Berlin, pp. 107-130, viewed 15 August 2018, Ebook Central.

In-text

...............(Fernandes & Machado 2017, pp. 111-112).
Fernandes and Machado (2017, pp. 111-112) discuss.................

Notes

  • Enter publisher and location details as per print book
  • If there is no print version of an ebook and no place of publication can be located, only list the publisher
  • If retrieved from an ACU database, use the database name e.g. Ebook central
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Encyclopedias & dictionaries

Reference list

Author, AA & Author, BB Year, ‘Title of chapter’, in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, Publisher, Location, pp. xxx-xxx.
Duska, R, Duska, B & Ragatz, J 2008, 'Accounting, ethics of', in RW Kolb (ed), Encyclopedia of business ethics and society, SAGE Publications, Thousand Oaks, CA, pp. 9-15.

In-text

................(Duska, Duska & Ragatz 2008, p. 9).
Duska, Duska and Ragatz (2008 p. 9) define..........

Notes

  • Referencing format is the same as chapter in edited book or edited ebook
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format