APA

Click on the elements below to learn about the basic requirements for referencing books and ebooks in APA 7 style.  For information on citing book chapters refer to the page on citing a Chapter in an edited book.

Text version

Use the decision tree below to determine when to include a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) or URL in your reference.

Text version

Notes

• What is a DOI? Most online journal articles as well as many ebooks will have a Digital Object Identifier. It is a unique identifier that provides a persistent link to the work, e.g. 10.1111/jofi.13290.
• DOIs are formatted as hyperlinks, e.g. https://doi.org/10.1111/jofi.13290.
• If the work has no DOI, the URL is not needed if you read the work in print or accessed it via an academic database (such as Ebook Central, Clinical Key and ProQuest). 
• Functioning, shortened links can be used for long URLs or DOIs.

Reference list

Examples:

Duckett, S. J. (2022). The Australian health care system (6th ed.). Oxford University Press.

Barnett, L. (2023). The heart of therapy: Developing compassion, understanding and boundaries. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781003364504

In-text citation

(Duckett, 2022) or (Duckett, 2022, p. 16) or Duckett (2022) states that … or (Duckett, 2022, pp. 16-17)

Notes

• The title of the book is always in italics. Capitalise the first letter in the title, any proper nouns (for example, Australia) and the first letter of the subtitle.
• Include page numbers (or paragraph numbers in the absence of page numbers) within in-text citations for direct quotes. When paraphrasing, page numbers are recommended but not required.

Reference list

Examples:

Kenner, C., & Lott, J. W. (2016). Neonatal nursing care handbook: An evidence-based approach to conditions and procedures (2nd ed.). Springer.

Mofield, E., & Phelps, V. (2023). Coaching in gifted education: Tools for building capacity and catalyzing change. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781003340560

In-text citation examples

(Kenner & Lott, 2016) or (Kenner & Lott, 2016, p. 78) or Kenner and Lott (2016) indicate that … or (Kenner & Lott, 2016, pp.121-125)

Notes

• List the authors' names in the order they appear.
• The title of the book is always in italics. Capitalise the first letter in the title, any proper nouns and the first letter of the subtitle.
• Include page numbers (or paragraph numbers in the absence of page numbers) within in-text citations for direct quotes. When paraphrasing, page numbers are recommended but not required.

Reference list

Examples:

Levett-Jones, T., Bourgeois, S., & Luke, L. (2009). The clinical placement: A nursing survival guide (2nd ed.). Balliere Tindall Elsevier.

Watanabe, C., Tou, Y., & Neittaanmäki, P. (2021). Transforming the socio economy with digital innovation. Elsevier. https://doi.org.au/10.1016/C2020-0-03566-8

In-text citation examples

(Levett-Jones et al., 2009) or (Levett-Jones et al., 2009, p. 78) or Levett-Jones et al. (2009) states that … or (Levett-Jones et al., 2009, pp. 12-15)

Notes

• In the reference list, provide surnames and initials for up to and including 20 authors. When there are 2 to 20 authors, use an ampersand before the final author's name.
• In the in-text citation, when a work has three or more authors, use the surname of the first author followed by the abbreviation et al (Note the full stop after et al.)
• The title of the book is always in italics. Capitalise the first letter in the title, any proper nouns and the first letter of the subtitle.
• Include page numbers (or paragraph numbers in the absence of page numbers) within in-text citations for direct quotes. When paraphrasing, page numbers are recommended but not required.

Reference list

Example:

Arendt, C., Awasthi, S., Bektas, C., Biskup, J., Borgwardt, K., Böcker, S., Büscher, J., Cheng, L., Deuse, J., Ding, Z., Falkenberg, R., Finkeldey, F., Gramse, N., Haferkamp, M., Heimann, K., Hergenröder, R., Hompel, M. ten, Häger, S., Ickstadt, K., … Wüstefeld, K. (2022). Machine learning under resource constraints. Applications. De Gruyter. https://doi.org/10.1515/9783110785982

In-text citation examples

(Arendt et al., 2022) or (Arendt et al., 2022, p. 78) or Arendt et al. (2022) state that … or (Arendt et al., 2022, pp. 4-5)

Notes

• In the reference list, provide author surnames and initials for works of up to and including 20 authors. If a source contains 21 or more authors, include the first 19 authors, followed by an ellipsis (3 dots) then the name of the final author, to indicate that some names have been omitted.
• The title of the book is always in italics. Capitalise the first letter in the title, any proper nouns and the first letter of the subtitle.
• Include page numbers (or paragraph numbers in the absence of page numbers) within in-text citations for direct quotes. When paraphrasing, page numbers are recommended but not required.
• In the in-text citation, when a work has three or more authors, use the surname of the first author followed by the abbreviation et al. (Note the full stop after et al.).

Reference list

Examples:

Asha, J. (2022). The potential of the visual : teaching literacy with multimodal texts. Primary English Teaching Association Australia.

Kennedy, K., Henderson, D., & Marsh, C. J. (2022). Becoming a teacher (7th ed.). Pearson.

In-text

(Asha, 2022) or (Asha, 2022, p.78) or (Asha, 2022, pp.12-15) or Ashar (2022) state that …

(Kennedy et al., 2022) or (Kennedy et al., 2022, p.10) or (Kennedy et al., 2022, p.25-27) or Kennedy et al. assert …

Notes

• This is the template to use when citing ebooks without a DOI that are available via an academic database, such as Ebook Central, Clinical Key, Ebscohost or Springer.
• The Book title is always in italics. Capitalise the first letter in the Book title, any proper nouns and the first letter of the subtitle.
• For multiple authors, consult the guidance provided by APA for reference lists and in-text citations.

Reference list

Example:

Liamputtong, P. (Ed.). (2016). Research methods in health: Foundations for evidence-based practice (3rd ed.). Oxford University Press.

In-text

(Liamputtong, 2016) or (Liamputtong, 2016, p. 16) or Liamputtong (2016) states that …

Notes

• Use (Ed.) for a single editor or (Eds.). for multiple editors.
• Include page numbers (or paragraph numbers in the absence of page numbers) within in-text citations for direct quotes. When paraphrasing, page numbers or paragraph numbers are recommended but not required.
• In the in-text citation, if the work contains three or more editors, provide the name of the first editor followed by the abbreviation et al. (Note the full stop after et al.).
• For multiple authors or editors, consult the guidance provided by APA for reference lists and in-text citations.

Reference list

Examples without an author:

Decompression. (2017). In E. Martin, & T. McFerran, (Eds.), A Dictionary of nursing (7th ed.). Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/110.1093/acref/9780198788454.001.0001

Dates and dating (n.d.). In Catholic encyclopedia. Retrieved March 15th, 2020, from http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/04636c.htm

Examples with authors:

Davidson, T., & Porter, M. (2015). Eating disorders. In J. L. Longe (Ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of medicine (5th ed.). Gale.

Bell, D., & Morgan, M., (n.d.) 3D ultrasound. In Radiopaedia. Retrieved February 20th, 2020, from https://radiopaedia.org/articles/3d-ultrasound

In-text

Decompression (2017) is defined as…

(Davidson & Porter, 2015) or (Davidson & Porter, 2015, pp. 235-236) or Davidson and Porter (2015) defined …

Notes

• If the entry in a dictionary or encyclopedia does not have an author use the title of the entry , for example, Diabetes.
• Omit the website name when it is the same as the author.
• If the encyclopedia is online and constantly updated, use "n.d." as the year of publication and include the date of retrieval.
• For multiple authors, consult the guidance provided by APA for reference lists and in-text citations.
• Include page numbers (or paragraph numbers in the absence of page numbers) within in-text citations for direct quotes. When paraphrasing, page numbers or paragraph numbers are recommended but not required.

Reference list

Example:

Fox, M. (2000). Harriet, you'll drive me wild! (M. Frazee, Illus.). Harcourt.

In-text citation

(Fox, 2000) or (Fox, 2000, p.11)

Notes

• References for children's picture books or other illustrated books follow the format for books, but include the illustrator's name in addition to the author's name.
• Refer to the APA Style blog for more information and examples on citing children's books and illustrated books.

Reference list

Example:

Svendsen, S., & Løber, L. (2020). The big picture/academic writing: The one-hour guide (3rd ed.). Hans Reitzel Forlag. https://thebigpicture-academicwriting.digi.hansreitzel.dk/

In-text citation

For direct quotations of material without page numbers add the paragraph number and/or section heading.

(Svendsen & Løber, 2020) or (Svendsen & Løber, 2020, p.78) or Svendsen and Løber (2020) state that …

Notes

• If the work has no DOI, the URL is not needed if you accessed and read the work via a subscription or academic library database (such as Ebsco, Informit, ProQuest, ScienceDirect etc.).
• If the URL is very long, a functioning shortened url can be used.
• For multiple authors, consult the guidance provided by APA for reference lists and in-text citations.

Reference list

Watson, J. B., & Rayner, R. (2013). Conditioned emotional reactions: The case of Little Albert (D. Webb. Ed.). CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. http://a.co/06Se6Na (Original work published 1920)

In-text

(Watson & Rayner, 1920/2013) or (Watson & Rayner, 1920/2013, p. 17) or

Watson and Rayner (1920/2013) stated that …

Notes

• In the example above, the book by Watson and Rayner was originally published in 1930. It was edited by Webb and republished in 2013.
• Sometimes an authored book also credits an editor on the cover. In this case, include the editor in parentheses without italics after the book title.
• Provide the year of the republication in the main date element of the reference.
• Provide the year of original publication at the end of the reference in parentheses after the words "Original work published".
• Include page numbers (or paragraph numbers in the absence of page numbers) within in-text citations for direct quotes. When paraphrasing, page numbers are recommended but not required.
• For multiple authors, consult the guidance provided by APA for reference lists and in-text citations.

Reference list

Example:

Kubler-Ross, E. (with Byock, I.). (2014). On death & dying: What the dying have to teach doctors, nurses, clergy & their own families (50th anniversary ed.). Scribner. (Original work published 1969)

In-text

When citing the main book, include only the name of the book author: (Kubler-Ross, 1969/2014)

When citing the foreword or introduction, include the name of the author of that part (Kubler-Ross, 1969/2014, foreword by Brock, p. xv).

Notes

• Use this format when a person other than the original author has added a new part to the work, such as a foreword or introduction.
• Provide the author of the whole book in the main author element of the reference. Then provide the name of the person who wrote the foreword, introduction, or other part new part, in parentheses, after the word "with".
• Include page numbers (or paragraph numbers in the absence of page numbers) within in-text citations for direct quotes. When paraphrasing, page numbers are recommended but not required.