Chicago A: 18th edition

Articles from newspapers, magazines, and online news sites are all cited similarly.

First footnote

^No Author Full Name and Author Full Name, "Title of Article: Subtitle," Title of Publication, Month Day, Year, Pages, URL or Database Name (if online). 

Examples

¹ John Ferguson, "Apathy a Danger as Winter Moves In," The Australian, May 4, 2021, ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstream.

² Anna Sale, "How to Make your Small Talk Big," New York Times, May 1, 2021, https://www.nytimes.com/section/opinion/gender-and-society.

Subsequent footnotes

⁸ Ferguson, "Apathy a Danger as Winter Moves In." 

Bibliography

Author Last name, First name. "Title of Article: Subtitle." Title of Publication, Month Day, Year. URL or Database name (if online).

Examples

Ferguson, John. "Apathy a Danger as Winter Moves In." The Australian, May 4, 2021. ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstream.

Sale, Anna. "How to Make your Small Talk Big." New York Times, May 1, 2021. https://www.nytimes.com/section/opinion/gender-and-society.

Notes

• Author/s: Use the author's full name if provided. If an article has no author, the title of the article stands in place of the author. For multiple authors, check the author layout table for in-text and bibliography format.
• Titles: Use title case, except prepositions consisting of four or fewer letters (for example, as, of, the, in).
• URL: For articles consulted online include a URL, or the name of the subscription database the article was sourced.
• For opinion articles or editorials in newspapers and magazines, note the type of article (for example, Opinion) after the article title.  
• See CMOS 14.87-88 for additional magazine examples and CMOS 14.89 for additional newspaper examples.

First footnote

^No Creator Full Name, "Title of Video," additional information/contributors/discription, Month Year, Platform, Duration, URL.

³ Pope Francis, "Why the Only Future Worth Building includes Everyone," TED Talk, Vancouver BC, April 2017, 17 min., 41 sec., https://www.ted.com/talks/his_holiness_pope_francis_why_the_only_future_worth_building_includes_everyone.

Subsequent footnote

⁹ Francis (Pope), “Why the Only Future Worth Building includes Everyone."

Bibliography

Creator Surname, First Name. "Title of Video." Additional information/contributors/description, Month Year. Platform. Duration. URL.

Francis (Pope). "Why the Only Future Worth Building includes Everyone." TED Talk, Vancouver BC, April 2017. 17 min., 41 sec., https://www.ted.com/talks/his_holiness_pope_francis_why_the_only_future_worth_building_includes_everyone.

National Geographic. "Hidden Tomb Reveals a Treasure Trove of Royal Remains." May, 2014. YouTube, 2 min. 54 sec. https://youtu.be/on2XlVHvP5M.

Notes

• Creator: The person or body primarily responsible for the content.
• Title: Titles of videos hosted on online platforms are enclosed in quotation marks. Titles of programs or films are in italics. Use title case, except prepositions consisting of four or fewer letters (for example, as, of, the, in).
• Additional information: Include any other relevant information about the content, such as other contributors, year and location of original event and any other information to assist readers to locate the source.
• URL: Include a URL, or the name of the subscription database. Access date is not required for online materials, unless there is no publication date.
• For additional examples, see: CMOS 14.167.

First footnote

^No Producer/Director/Presenter Full name, their role, Title of Program, Season X, episode X, "Title of Episode," additional credits, aired Month Day, Year, on Network/Streaming Service, URL or Database Name.

¹ Geraldine Doogue, presenter. Compass, "My Island Church," aired April 6, 2014, on ABC. ClickView.

Subsequent footnotes

³ Doogue, "My Island Church."

Bibliography

Producer/Director/Presenter Surname, First name, their role. Title of Program. Season X, episode X, "Title of Episode." Additional credits. Aired Month Day, Year, on Network/Streaming Service. URL or Database Name.

Doogue, Geraldine, presenter. Compass. "My Island Church." Aired April 6, 2014, on ABC. ClickView.

Notes

• Title: Titles of programs or films are in italics. Titles of episodes are enclosed in quotation marks. Use title case, except prepositions consisting of four or fewer letters (for example, as, of, the, in).
• Creator/s: The person/s primarily responsible for the content. You may list the director/producer/presenter here, followed by their role. Provide any relevant additional credits (such as writers or performers) after the title.
• Date: For recordings accessed online, if there is no date of production/broadcast/publication provided, include an access date before the URL.
• If the episode does not have a title, refer to it by episode number.
• For further examples, see CMOS 14.165.

First footnote

^No Director Full Name, dir, Movie Title, additional credits, (Production Company, Year of release), URL or Platform or Database Name.

¹ Andrew Pike and Ann McGrath, dirs., Message From Mungo (Ronin Films, 2014), Kanopy.

Subsequent footnotes

⁵ Pike and McGrath, Message From Mungo.

Bibliography

Director Surname, First name, dir. Movie Title. Additional credits. Production Company, Year of release.  URL or Platform or Database Name.

Pike, Andrew, and Ann McGrath, dirs. Message From Mungo. Ronin Films, 2014. Kanopy.

Notes

• Director/s: If the director's name is provided, use the full given name, followed by their role (dir.).
• Title: Use title case, except prepositions consisting of four or fewer letters (for example, as, of, the, in).
• For further examples, see CMOS 14.165.

Podcasts are cited much like television episodes and series.

First footnote

^No  First Presenter's Full Name and Second Presenter's Full Name, their role, Title of Program, podcast, season X, episode X, "Title of Episode," additional credits, Month Day, Year, URL.

¹ Ann Jones, presenter, Off Track, podcast, "Nature Tells Us Who We Are," produced by Jo Khan, ABC Radio National, Dec 11, 2021, https://www.abc.net.au/listen/programs/offtrack/nature-connection-sanctuary-fatima-measham/13653442.

Subsequent footnotes

² Jones, "Nature Tells Us Who We Are."

Bibliography

First Presenter's Surname, First Name and Second Presenter's First Name and Surname, their role. Title of Program. Podcast. Season X, episode X, "Title of Episode." Additional credits. Month Day, Year. URL.

Jones, Ann, presenter. Off Track. Podcast. "Nature Tells Us Who We Are." Produced by Jo Khan, ABC Radio National. Dec 11, 2021. https://www.abc.net.au/listen/programs/offtrack/nature-connection-sanctuary-fatima-measham/13653442.

Notes

• Title: Titles of the program (podcast title) is in italics. Titles of episodes are enclosed in quotation marks. Use title case, except prepositions consisting of four or fewer letters (for example, as, of, the, in).
• Host/Presenter: List the host or presenter, followed by their role. You can also provide any relevant additional credits such as writers or producers after the title. For multiple hosts check the author layout table.
• Date: If no date of production/broadcast/ is provided, include an access date before the URL.
• Episode/Series Number: Include both the Series Number and Episode Number, as well as the episode title if available.
• If you cannot find specific elements of a citation, leave them out and include what is available.
• For further examples, see CMOS 14.168.