Skip to Main Content

MLA

A guide to using MLA 9th referencing style

Film or Movie

Works Cited

Viewed via a library database

Title of Film. Contributor(s), Production Company, Year of Release, Database Name, URL.

Looking for Infinity: El Camino. Directed by Aaron Leaman, Umbrella Entertainment, 2017. Kanopy, www.kanopy.com/en/acu/video/963240.

Viewed via streaming service

Title of Film. Contributor(s), Production Company, Year of Release, Streaming Service, URL.

Dune: Part Two. Directed by Denis Villeneuve, Legendary Pictures, 2024. Apple TV app.

Viewed in theatre or via DVD

Title of Film. Contributor(s), Production Company, Year of Release.

Oppenheimer. Written, produced and directed by Christopher Nolan, Universal Pictures, 2023.

In-text

… (Looking for Infinity 00:25:01-00:30:43)

Notes

Title: The title of the film, and the database name or streaming service is always in italics.

Contributors: List the contributors most relevant to the film after the move title with their role. Most common types of contributors listed include directors, creators, performers and screenplay writers.

Production Company: Where there are multiple production companies, enter a backslash between their names. For example, FilmNation Entertainment / Indian Paintbrush.

URL: if no URL is available list the word 'app' after the name of the streaming service you used to view the episode. For example, Amazon Prime Video app.

Newspapers

Works Cited

News database

Surname, Given Name(s). Title of Article. "Title of Newspaper or Source". Day Month Year, page range of article. Database, URL.

Farrelly, Elizabeth. “Inclusive Thinking Will Start the Healing.” Sydney Morning Herald,  28 Jan. 2016, p. 18. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=azh&AN=SYD-6O69U7VIOIS19O735HNO&site=ehost-live&scope=site&custid=s5501413.

Newspaper website

Surname, Given Name(s). "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Day Month Year, URL.

Bagshaw, Eryk. "Government Moves Closer to Massive New Digital Tax." The Age, 2 Oct. 2018, www.theage.com.au/politics/federal/government-moves-closer-to-massive-new-digital-tax-20181002-p507bc.html.

Newspaper print version

Surname, Given Name(s). "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Day Month Year, page range of article.

Koziol, Michael. “Murdoch in Oval Office as Trump Eases Tariff Threat.” Sydney Morning Herald, 5 Feb. 2025, p.10.

In-text

Bagshaw stated that …

… (Koziol 10).

Notes

Author: If there is no author, start the reference with the article title in the Works Cited List, and refer to a shortened form of this in your in-text citation.

Titles: All words in the article title, newspaper and database title are in capitalised headline-style, except articles and prepositions.

Article title: Surround the article title with quotation marks.

Newspaper and database title: Both the newspaper title and (where relevant) the name of the library database are formatted in italics.

Date: Include the month and day of publication as well as the year. Abbreviate month names greater than four letters: Jan., Feb., Mar., Apr., Aug., Sept., Oct., Nov., Dec.

Online video uploaded to website (YouTube, Vimeo etc.)

Works Cited

"Title of Video." Name of Video Hosting Service, uploaded by Given Name(s) Surname or username of creator. Day, Month, Year of posting, URL.

"William Blake's Printing Process." YouTube, uploaded by British Library. 7 June 2014, https://youtu.be/96LUAaaPqRc?si=25G6cX9FUd5ueL1l.

In-text

The video "William Blake's Printing Process" showed …

… ("William Blake's Printing Process").

Notes

Platform: The name of the video service (e.g. YouTube) is always formatted in italics.

Date: Abbreviate month names greater than four letters: Jan., Feb., Mar., Apr., Aug., Sept., Oct., Nov., Dec.

URL: Videos can often be found in more than one site. Reference the one you accessed.

Podcast

Works Cited

Host's Surname, Given Name(s). "Title of Podcast Episode." Title of Overall Podcast, season number if given, episode number if given, Website Hosting if Different from Podcast Title, Day Month Year of Episode, URL.

Kanowski, Sarah. "Robert Fisk: Life as a War Correspondent." ABC Radio - Conversations Podcast, Aug. 2017, www.abc.net.au/radio/programs/conversations/robert-fisk-rpt/9677970.

In-text

Fisk discussed the biopic … (Kanowski 00:19:42).

Notes

Author: For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and Works Cited list format.

Title: The episode title is surrounded by inverted commas, while the overall title of the Podcast series is formatted in italics.

URL: If the podcast comes from an app, provide the app name after the title of the overall podcast, in italics. Finish the entry after the date.

Date: Abbreviate month names greater than four letters: Jan., Feb., Mar., Apr., Aug., Sept., Oct., Nov., Dec.

Exclude from the reference any elements that aren't available.

Tv episode accessed online

Works Cited

"Title of Episode." Directed by Given Names(s) Surname. Title of Series. Creators' Names, season, episode, Production Company, Year of release. Name of Streaming Service, URL.

"Windsor." Directed by Philip Martin. The Crown. Created by Peter Morgan, season 1, episode 3, Left Bank Pictures / Sony Pictures Television, 2016. Netflix , https://www.netflix.com/au/title/80025678.

In-text

The portrayal of Edward VIII's abdication … ("Windsor" 00:30:17-45).

Notes

Titles: All words in the episode and series title are in capitalised headline-style, except articles and prepositions.

Production Company: Where there are multiple production companies, enter a backslash between their names. For example, FilmNation Entertainment / Indian Paintbrush.

URL: if no URL is available list the word 'app' after the name of the streaming service you used to view the episode. For example, Amazon Prime Video app.

Exclude from the reference any elements that aren't available.