Chicago A (Notes & bibliography)

Bibliography

Author Last name, First name. "Title of webpage." Website or organisation. Last modified Month Day, Year. https://xxxxxxxxxxxxx.

Feagins, Lucy. "The Inimitable Mirka Mora." The Design Files. Last modified August 28, 2018. https://thedesignfiles.net/2018/08/interview-mirka-mora/.

In-text

… as argued by Feagins.¹

First footnote

¹ Lucy Feagins, "The Inimitable Mirka Mora," The Design Files, last modified August, 28, 2018, https://thedesignfiles.net/2018/08/interview-mirka-mora/.

Subsequent footnotes

² Feagins, "The Inimitable Mirka Mora."

Notes

• If no individual author is identified, use the wider organisation or website as the corporate author in the bibliography. The note can leave out the author and begin with the title.
• If no date of publication or revision is available, add the date, for example, accessed May 10, 2022. 
• Words in the titles and subtitles are capitalised, except articles and prepositions.
• The author is inverted for the bibliography but not for the footnotes.
• The second line of the bibliography entry is indented.
• The first line of the footnote entry is indented.
• The first footnote includes all of the publication information.
• Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author’s surname, the book title, and the page number(s).
• If a webpage has numbered sections, these can be used in place of page numbers.
• For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format.

Bibliography

Name of Group/organisation or Last name, First name (if known). Title of Work. Place of Publication: Government Agency's name, Date of Publication. https://xxxxxxxxxxxx.

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. Closing the Gap Prime Minister’s Report 2018. Canberra: Commonwealth of Australia, 2018. https://closingthegap.pmc.gov.au/sites/default/files/ctg-report-2018.pdf.

First footnote

¹ Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Closing the Gap Prime Minister’s Report 2018 (Canberra: Commonwealth of Australia, 2018), 32. https://closingthegap.pmc.gov.au/sites/default/files/ctg-report-2018.pdf.

Subsequent footnotes

⁴ Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Closing the Gap, 47.

Notes

• Use the government department responsible for the publication or report as the author.
• The second line of the bibliography entry is indented.
• The first line of the footnote entry is indented.
• The first footnote includes all of the publication information.
• Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the organisation's name, the report title, and the page number(s).
• For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format.

Bibliography

Author(s) last name, First name. "Paper Title." Paper presented at Name, Location and Date of Conference. Accessed Month, Day Year. https://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.

Lindström, Niclas and Lars Samuelsson.  "Reason and Emotion: How Teachers Respond to Ethical Problems." Paper presented at Athens Institute for Education and Research, 2018. Accessed September 9, 2018. https://philpapers.org/rec/LINRAE-2.

First footnote

¹ Niclas Lindström and Lars Samuelsson, "Reason and Emotion: How Teachers Respond to Ethical Problems," (paper presented at Athens Institute for Education and Research, 2018), 4, https://philpapers.org/rec/LINRAE-2.

Subsequent footnotes

³ Lindström and Samuelsson, "Reason and Emotion," 7.

Notes

• If the author's given name is provided, use the full name.
• Words in the titles and subtitles are capitalised, except articles and prepositions.
• If the book is not a first edition, place the edition number after the title of the book, for example, Book Title. 2nd ed.
• The author is inverted for the bibliography but not for the footnotes.
• The second line of the bibliography entry is indented.
• The first line of the footnote entry is indented.
• The first footnote includes all of the publication information.
• Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author’s surname, the book title, and the page number(s).
• if conference paper is published as part of an edited volume, treat as a chapter in an edited book.
• Find month, place information on conference website for relevant year.
• For multiple authors check the author layout table for footnotes and bibliography format.

Bibliography

Name of organisation. Title of Work. Cat. Catalogue Number. Place of publication. Date of publication. https://xxxxxxxxxxxx.

Australian Bureau of Statistics. Census of Population and Housing: Reflecting Australia - Stories from the Census, 2016. Cat. 2071.0. Canberra, March 27, 2018. https://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/mf/2071.0.

First footnote

¹ Australian Bureau of Statistics (hereafter ABS), Census of Population and Housing: Reflecting Australia - Stories from the Census, 2016, Cat. no. 2071.0, Canberra, March 27, 2018, 24, March 27, 2018, https://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/mf/2071.0.

Subsequent footnotes

⁴ ABS, Census of Population and Housing, 13.

Notes

• Acronyms for long organisational names can be used if the acronym is added in brackets after first use (see example above).
• For more details on elements to include when citing different document types, see How to cite ABS sources.
• For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format.

Bibliography

Name of Standards organisation. Title of standard. Standard number or edition. Location of Publisher: Publisher name. https://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.

Standards Australia. Guide for Managing Risk in Not-for-Profit organisations. HB 266:2010. Sydney: SAI Global. https://infostore.saiglobal.com/en-au/standards/hb-266-2010-129527_saig_as_as_273974/.

First footnote

¹Guide for Managing Risk in Not-for-Profit organisations, HB 266:2010 (Sydney: SAI Global), 24, https://infostore.saiglobal.com/en-au/standards/hb-266-2010-129527_saig_as_as_273974/.

Subsequent footnotes

³ Guide for Managing Risk in Not-for-Profit organisations, 37.

Notes

• Standards can be cited by title in the footnotes.