Skip to Main Content

MHRA

ACU Library guide to MHRA referencing style.

With DOI

Bibliography

Last Name, First name, and First Name Last name, 'Title of Article', Journal Title, Volume. Issue no (Year), page range <https://doi.org/xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>

Kramer-Simpson, Elizabeth, 'Moving from Student to Professional: Industry Mentors and Academic Internship Coordinators Supporting Intern Learning in the Workplace', Journal of Technical Writing and Communication, 48.1 (2018), 81-103 <https://doi.org/10.1177/0047281616646753>

In-text

… it was noted by Kramer-Simpson.1

… as discussed.2

First footnote

1 Elizabeth Kramer-Simpson, 'Moving from Student to Professional: Industry Mentors and Academic Internship Coordinators Supporting Intern Learning in the Workplace', Journal of Technical Writing and Communication, 48.1 (2018), 81-103 (p. 92) <https://doi.org/10.1177/0047281616646753>.

Subsequent footnotes

2 Kramer-Simpson, p. 86.

Notes

  • If the author's given name is provided, use the full name.
  • Place the title of the article in single inverted commas.
  • Words in the titles and subtitles are capitalised, except articles and prepositions.
  • The first author is inverted for the bibliography but not for the footnote.
  • The second line of the bibliography entry is indented.
  • The first footnote includes all of the publication information.
  • Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author’s surname and the page number(s).
  • For multiple authors (more than three) check the author layout table for footnotes and bibliography format.

Without DOI

Bibliography

Surname, First name, 'Title of Article', Journal Title, Volume, Issue no (Year): Page range. <url> [accessed DD Month Year]

Chancey, Mark Alan, and Adam Porter, 'The Archaeology of Roman Palestine', Near Eastern Archaeology, 64.4 (2001), 164-203 <https://www.journals.uchicago.edu/doi/pdfplus/10.2307%2F3210829> [accessed 3 May 2022]

In-text

… it was argued by Chancey and Porter.1

… as discussed.2

First Footnote

1 Mark Alan Chancey and Adam Porter, 'The Archaeology of Roman Palestine', Near Eastern Archaeology, 64.4 (2001), 164-203 (p. 170) <https://www.journals.uchicago.edu/doi/pdfplus/10.2307%2F3210829> [accessed 3 May 2022]

Subsequent Footnotes

2 Chancey and Porter, p. 177.

Notes

  • An access date must be added for articles without a DOI.
  • Place the title of the article in single inverted commas.
  • The first footnote contains all of the publication information.
  • Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author's surname and the page number(s).
  • Words in the titles and subtitles are capitalised, except articles and prepositions.
  • Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author’s surname and page number(s).
  • For multiple authors (more than three) check the author layout table for footnotes and bibliography format.