General reference
Dictionaries and encyclopedias
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a great starting place for a topic overview or definition. These resources have a wide range of key information, expressed in an easy to understand format.
Study skills eresources
Academic Success (eBook) by
Academic Success is designed to help students on their university journey. It is divided into four parts, each reflecting different aspects of a student’s tertiary experience. Part A: Successful Beginnings addresses what it is like to be a new student at an Australian university. Part B: Successful Foundations introduces basic skills in English language, techniques for accessing and working with information, and understanding academic integrity. Part C: Successful Study Skills presents the everyday, core skills that successful students use while at university. Lastly, Part D: Successful Assessment meets head-on the challenges of tertiary assessments. This open book ultimately aids students across all disciplines in achieving academic success at university.
Publication Date: 2021
The Study Skills Handbook (eBook) by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by international best-selling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over 20 years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size fits all approach. This accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fourth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.New to this Edition:- Updated text design and engaging graphics to reinforce learning and jog students' memory of key topics- Brand new chapter on time management- Updated chapter on research projects, with a stronger emphasis on research methods
ISBN: 1137289252Publication Date: 2019
Teach Yourself How to Learn (eBook) by
How to Learn, describes Saundra McGuire's message is that "Any student can use simple, straightforward strategies to start making A's in their courses and enjoy a lifetime of deep, effective learning." Beginning with explaining how expectations about learning, and the study efforts required, differ between college and secondary school, the author introduces her readers, through the concept of metacognition, to the importance and powerful consequences of understanding themselves as learners. This framework and the recommended strategies that support it are useful for anyone moving on to a more advanced stage of education, so this book also has an intended audience of students preparing to go to high school, graduate school, or professional school. In a conversational tone, and liberally illustrated by anecdotes of past students, the author combines introducing readers to concepts like Bloom's Taxonomy (to illuminate the difference between studying and learning), fixed and growth mindsets, as well as to what brain science has to tell us about rest, nutrition and exercise, together with such highly specific learning strategies as how to read a textbook, manage their time and take tests. With engaging exercises and thought-provoking reflections, this book is an ideal motivational and practical text for study skills and first year experience courses.
ISBN: 1620367556Publication Date: 2018
Subject-specific library guides
Library guides are subject-specific guides containing lists of resources created by librarians to assist students with their study and assessment needs. They include links to online resources such as books, articles, databases, websites as well as any other resources librarians feel might be useful.
Video databases (general)
- Kanopy
A collection of popular and educational streaming videos.
Referencing
What is referencing?
Every source of information or idea that is not your own must be acknowledged in your writing. Referencing or citing the information is a way to acknowledge the original authors of the sources you have used. This includes all material created by others such as written works, visual images, ideas and music. Properly referencing sources that you've used in your assignments, in the style required by your lecturer, is an essential part of university writing and necessary for academic integrity.
Why reference?
It is important to reference because:
- it provides evidence to support your argument
- it allows the reader to locate and verify the sources you have referred to
- it protects you from accusations of plagiarism
- it demonstrates your wide reading and research.
Make sure you get 'easy marks' by referencing correctly!
Credit to: University of Newcastle, Library Guides. (2022, September 16). Enabling Pathways Library Guide: Why reference? https://libguides.newcastle.edu.au/foundationstudies/why-reference
How to reference
The Library's APA 7 referencing pages show you how to reference at ACU using the American Psychological Association (APA) 7th edition style. There are lots of examples of references and how to use them in your assignments:
Some Business units require you to use the Harvard Referencing Style. Please make sure you use the ACU Harvard referencing style guide, as it does vary.