Finding scholarly journal articles
- ProQuest ABI/INFORM CollectionSearch this database for full-text journal articles from key business and economic journals, news sources and industry reports, providing insight into companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Source CompleteProvides bibliographic and full text business content, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.
- Emerald InsightFull text journals, books and case studies spanning a spectrum of management, marketing and business disciplines.
- DatAnalysis Premium
Find information on ASX-listed companies including corporate history, trading history, industry comparisons, price and financial history, annual reports and delisted companies. Published by Morningstar.
- IBISWorld
The IBISWorld platform lets you search across all the IBISWorld datasets. Please note: We are not subscribed to all content in these databases.
- Passport
Passport GMID from Euromonitor International offers quality international market intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It includes industry data, country reports, global reports, and company profiles.
Conducting your company search and industry analysis
Steps for conducting company research
Public companies are listed on the stock exchange (see ASX company list). They release detailed information on a quarterly basis and are easier to research.
Private companies are not listed on the stock exchange. They are not required to release information about themselves publicly and can be challenging to research.
Subsidiaries are companies whose voting stock is more than 50% owned by a controlling (or parent) company. Parent companies are not required to report on each of their subsidiaries, so these can be challenging to research.
- PassportSearch for the company required in the search bar. Under analysis look for the global company profile, or local company profile if you are looking for a specific jurisdiction.
- Business Source CompleteChoose Company Reports from top menu
- IBISWorld Australia Company ProfilesSelect Company Research from top menu to access Australia Company Reports
- Passport
Passport GMID from Euromonitor International offers quality international market intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It includes industry data, country reports, global reports, and company profiles.
- Passport
Passport GMID from Euromonitor International offers quality international market intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It includes industry data, country reports, global reports, and company profiles.
When you’re conducting company research, don’t forget to:
- Explore key competitors
- Look at the company’s website to see what information is available, such as history or press releases
- See what information is available through the company’s social media sites
- Research the industry in which the company operates
Where to find different types of industry information
- IBISWorld Australia Industry Reports (ANZSIC)
Analyses 500 Australian industries. Each report includes key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, and major industry participants.
- Australian Bureau of StatisticsOfficial Australian statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters. Select the industry tab from the home page
- Passport
Passport GMID from Euromonitor International offers quality international market intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It includes industry data, country reports, global reports, and company profiles.
- IBISWorld Australia Industry Reports (ANZSIC)
Analyses 500 Australian industries. Each report includes key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, and major industry participants.
- IBISWorld Australia Specialized Industry Reports
Comprehensive information on Australian industries, top 2000 companies, and the business environment.
- Passport
Passport GMID from Euromonitor International offers quality international market intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It includes industry data, country reports, global reports, and company profiles.
- IBISWorld Australia Business Environment Profiles
Insight into drivers that affect industry performance such as exchange rates, commodity prices, interest rates, weather conditions, consumer attitudes, and demographics.
- Passport
Passport GMID from Euromonitor International offers quality international market intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It includes industry data, country reports, global reports, and company profiles.
- Business Source CompleteProvides bibliographic and full text business content, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.
- Newspaper Source PlusFull-text local and international newspapers. Australian papers include, The Daily Telegraph (Sydney), The Australian, The Canberra Times, and The Sydney Morning Herald.
- Passport
Passport GMID from Euromonitor International offers quality international market intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It includes industry data, country reports, global reports, and company profiles.
- ProQuest ABI/INFORM CollectionFull text journal articles from key business and economic journals, news sources and industry reports, providing insight into companies and business trends around the world.
- ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstream
Major Australian and New Zealand newspapers. It includes regional and rural radio transcripts and news from current affairs television programs such as the ABC 7.30 Report.
- Business Source CompleteLimit to Industry Report and Market Report from Document Type
- Passport
Passport GMID from Euromonitor International offers quality international market intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It includes industry data, country reports, global reports, and company profiles.
- ProQuest ABI/INFORM CollectionLimit to Industry Profile from Publication Type
- ProQuest ABI/INFORM CollectionLimit to ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry from Database filter
- Australian Bureau of Statistics
Official Australian statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters. Includes Australian census data. Updated weekdays at 11.30am.
Company and industry websites
- ABN LookupPublic view of the Australian Business Register (ABR).
Use it to access publicly available information supplied by businesses when they register for an Australian Business Number (ABN). - ASX Company LookupCompany details plus closing prices and price history charts for all listed companies. You can access the full-text of company announcements.
- ASX Official List (Listed companies)ASX listed companies sorted by company name. This list is updated after each trading day.
- Australian Charities and Not for Profit CommissionAustralian Government site with information about the 54,000+ charities registered with the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC).
- BRW ListsVarious ranking lists from the Business Review Weekly including a list of the Top 500 Private Companies.
- Delisted companiesList of companies that have changed their name or have been delisted from the Australian Stock Exchange
- Fortune rankingsAnnual rankings of the world’s top companies and executives.
- SuperbrandsA series of brand-focused books (print and electronic) highlighting trusted Australian companies and brands.
- AustradeAustrade aims to advance Australia's international trade and education, investment, and tourism interests by providing information, advice and services.
- Australia.gov.au: Business & IndustryAustralian government information for business and industry, including the building and construction, food and primary industries, plus information on trade and investment.
- Australian Bureau of StatisticsWide range of data, including statistics on different industry sectors.
- Australian Chamber of Commerce and IndustryAustralia's largest and most representative business association, comprising state and territory chambers of commerce and national industry associations.
- Department of Industry, Innovation and ScienceAustralian Government Department devoted to enabling growth and productivity for globally competitive industries.
Peter Faber Business School accrediting organisations
- EPAS accreditationInternational program accreditation system operated by the European Foundation for Management Development.
- PRME - Principles for Responsible Management EducationUnited Nations-supported initiative founded in 2007 as a platform to raise the profile of sustainability in schools around the world, and to equip today's business students with the understanding and ability to deliver change tomorrow.
- AACSB accreditation (in progress)Synonymous with the highest standards of excellence since 1916, AACSB provides quality assurance, business education intelligence, and learning and development services.
Accounting
- Certified Practicing Accountants of Australia (CPA Australia)Finance, accounting and business professional with a specific qualification.
- Institute of Public Accountants (IPA)One of three professional accounting bodies recognised in Australian legislation, alongside the Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CA ANZ) and CPA Australia.
- Chartered Accountants Australia and New ZealandInternationally recognised and indicates a high standard of ethical, professional and technical expertise.
- Certified Management Accountant (CMA)All ACU postgraduate graduates in accounting and MBAs are automatically eligible for Certified Management Accountant (CMA) professional designation if they have completed Strategic Resource Management and Strategic Managerial Accounting and have 5 years of business experience.
Human resources
- Australian Human Resources Institute (AHRI)As the professional association for human resources, AHRI is tasked with ensuring HR professionals and people managers have the essential prerequisite skills and knowledge required to work in the HR profession.
- Australian OHS Education Accreditation BoardThe Board accredits OHS professional education programs. It's vision is that OHS professional education in Australia is based on strong scientific and technical concepts, is evidence informed, and delivered by competent professionals who are recognised by the industry, government, and the community.
Information technology
- Australia Computer Society (ACS)"As the professional association and peak body representing Australia’s ICT sector, ACS delivers authoritative independent knowledge and technology insights, building relevant technology capacity and capability that catalyses Australian innovation and speeds the adoption of technology for the benefit of commerce, government and society."
Marketing and management
- Australian Marketing Institute (AMI)With the largest network of marketers across the country, the Australian Marketing Institute has been supporting the career progression of members and advancing the marketing profession since 1933.
News and video
- ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstream
Major Australian and New Zealand newspapers. It includes regional and rural radio transcripts and news from current affairs television programs such as the ABC 7.30 Report.
- Newspaper Source PlusFull text local and international newspapers. Australian papers include: The Daily Telegraph (Sydney), The Australian, The Canberra Times, and The Sydney Morning Herald. International include: The New York Times, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Daily Mail (UK), The Times (UK), The Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, and The Washington Times.
- Henry Stewart Talks - The Business & Management CollectionCollection of audio-visual lectures and case studies by leading experts from commerce, industry, the professions, and academia.
- Informit
Large collection of multiple Australian research databases. Includes full text, indexes and abstracts to journals, books, conference proceedings and other research material. Includes A+ Education, Health Collection, Indigenous Collection, Australian Public Affairs Full Text, AGIS Plus Text, Literature & Culture Collection, Australian Criminology Database, Business Collection, Families & Society Collection, and more.
- Linkedin Learning
Learn software, creative, and business skills through instructional videos.