Acknowledgement of Country
In recognising Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people's spiritual and cultural connection to Country, and in continuing ACU'S commitment to Reconciliation, we would like to acknowledge the First Peoples and Traditional Owners and custodians of the Country where ACU campuses are located.
We respectfully acknowledge our Elders, past and present, and thank them for their guidance as we walk in their footsteps.
Evaluated First Peoples' knowledges resources
The library has a collection of Indigenous resources that have been evaluated using the ACU Indigenous Evaluation Tool. This means that they are appropriate resources to use and embed in curriculum units.
To find these resources, you can search the First Peoples' Knowledges Collection or use the First Peoples' knowledges filter in Library search:
- Search for a specific item or use keywords (for example, Aborigin* OR Indigenous) to find resources.
- Look to the left side for your refining options.
- Under Special collection, select First Peoples' knowledges
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities, students and staff are advised that material in the Library may contain names and images of deceased Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.
Referencing
For general help with referencing and in text citations, please refer to our Referencing Guide or the CAVAL Indigenous Knowledges Citation Guide or seek help from Academic Skills.
If you are looking for advice about referencing and citing protocols for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander resources, check the Australian Government Style Manual section for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples. This section of the style manual provides guidance on topics specific to Indigenous resources such as:
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander identity
- Respectful language
- Naming protocols
- Recognition of continuous culture and connections
- Consultation
Key databases
- Australian Indigenous Law LibraryThis resource includes legislation, case-law, government reports, scholarly research and treaties.
- BlackWords -- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Writers and StorytellersInformation about the lives, careers, and works of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers and storytellers and the literary cultures and traditions that formed and influenced them.
- ClickView
Access visually stunning, curriculum-aligned video content and teacher resources, plus contextual on-demand TV, your own video library and interactive question layers for formative assessment.
- Indigenous Scholars You Should Know
Video interviews with indigenous scholars which ‘cast a spotlight on current Australian First Nations scholarship: highlighting emerging methodologies, reflecting upon experiences within academia, and unpacking some of the ideas informing these important projects. The diverse fields and varied career stages of the interviewees echo the breadth of outputs being produced by First Nations academics.’
- Informit
Large collection of multiple Australian research databases. Includes full text, indexes and abstracts to journals, books, conference proceedings and other research material. Includes A+ Education, Health Collection, Indigenous Collection, Australian Public Affairs Full Text, AGIS Plus Text, Literature & Culture Collection, Australian Criminology Database, Business Collection, Families & Society Collection, and more.
- Kanopy
A collection of popular and educational streaming videos.
- Learning ground - indigenous education research database
Covers international and national research on indigenous education from journal articles, conference papers, reports and more.
- National Centre for Australian children's literature - Aboriginal and or Torres Strait Islander ResourcesThe National Centre for Australian Children’s Literature (NCACL) is celebrating and promoting children’s books by and about Australia’s Aboriginal and or Torres Strait Islander Peoples, including books in Indigenous languages. The NCACL is providing a comprehensive, freely available Resource, which provides unique insights into books written by and or about Aboriginal and or Torres Strait Islander Peoples.
- Trove
A vast range of Australian collections from cultural, community and research organisations. Includes books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, theses, diaries, archives and more. Provided by the National Library of Australia.
Web resources
- AIATSIS CollectionOnline catalogue of Australian Institute of Aborignal & Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS).
- AIATSIS map of Indigenous AustraliaThis interactive map attempts to represent all the language, tribal or nation groups of the Aboriginal people of Australia.
- ByalawaA video series about appropriate culturally safe interviewing and case history-taking skills when working with indigenous clients.
- Koori MailA national Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Newspaper, 'where knowledge is exchanged, culture is shared, the Country comes together and is connected keeping the Voice of Indigenous Australia —strong, proud and relevant.'
- SBS: NITVNational Indigenous Television including news and programs produced primarily by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.
ACU Indigenous Higher Education Units
Dhara Daramoolen (Earth, Spirit) | Canberra
T: +61 2 6209 1222 E: dhara.daramoolen@acu.edu.au
Yalbalinga (Place of Learning) | Blacktown, Strathfield, and North Sydney
T: +61 2 9701 4258 E: yalbalinga@acu.edu.au
Weemala (Distant View) | Brisbane
T: +61 7 3861 6122 E: weemala@acu.edu.au
Jim-baa-yer (To Learn - To Teach) | Ballarat, Melbourne, and Adelaide
T: +61 3 9953 3004 E: jimbaayer@acu.edu.au