Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Endnote

Manage your references and create in-text citations and bibliographies.

Adding output styles

EndNote output styles

EndNote automatically includes thousands of referencing styles but you can add new and customised styles as required.

  • The EndNote Output Styles page contains over 6000 referencing styles.
  • You can search and install individual styles from the EndNote Resources webpage.
  • If you can't find the style you need, search the journal or government website to find and download. 
  • The information is usually in "Instructions for Authors" or a similar section.

Download and install the styles you need in 5 steps...

  1. Download the style you want to install.
  2. Double-click the style file (it should open in EndNote).
  3. In EndNote, select File > Save As.
  4. Replace the word Copy > Save.
  5. Click on File > Close Style.

Specific Australian styles used at ACU include:

  • AGLC4 (the Fourth Edition of the Australian Guide to Legal Citation).
  • Visit the UTS AGLC webpage to download and install the AGLC style, and find AGLC referencing guides.
  • You will also find useful ACLC referencing guides on the UTS AGLC webpage.

Editing output styles

Editing a referencing output style - useful examples

  1. Open EndNote
  2. go to Tools > Output Styles > Open Style Manager
  3. select the style you want to edit (See Downloading and installing individual styles in the box above if your style isn't in the list)
  4. click Edit > the style window opens.

Changing title capitalisation in your APA 7th bibliography

Titles appear in the bibliography either as they appear in the reference or as the Output Style formats them.  For the Sentence style required for APA 7:

  1. on the left menu, select Bibliography > Title Capitalisation
  2. select the radio button for Sentence style capitalisation
  3. choose APA 7th 
  4. name and save your edited style then select it from the Style menus in EndNote and MS Word.

Changing the author name in APA 7 in-text citations:

For authors with the same surname but different initials, APA 7 in-text citations show the author's initials.

To change the output style to initials only for primary authors:

  1. on the left menu, select Citations > Author name
  2. in the Name Format section find initials
  3. check Use initials only for primary authors with the same name
  4. close APA 7
  5. name and save your edited style then select it from the Style menus in EndNote and MS Word.

For more information on editing styles, take a look at the Clarivate Style Editing Guide.

Labels & research notes

Labels and research notes

EndNote provides some additional fields for you to organise, annotate or add your own synopsis for any reference.  These fields will not appear in your bibliography unless you choose an annotated style, yet they are searchable using the Search panel.

Labels

You can add Labels to organize by headings, categories, chapters, research project codes, or the Author's ORCID ID.

To edit the Label field individually:

  • click on the reference you wish to edit - the Reference Panel will open on the right
  • select Edit from the top of Reference panel
  • scroll down to locate the Label field
  • add your preferred label
  • click Save.

To edit the Label fields for a whole Group of references:

  • click on the Group Name
  • under the Library tab, select Change/Move/Copy Fields
  • on the Change Fields tab, select Label from the In: drop down menu
  • select your desired change and format
  • edit the name, category, chapter name or research project code in the box on the right
  • click OK, and then read the pop-up alert box.

The Research notes field

Research notes are useful for adding your own synopsis for an annotated bibliography or paragraphs for your paper.

  • click on the reference you need to edit - the Reference Panel will open on the right
  • select Edit from the top of Reference panel
  • scroll down to locate the Research Notes field
  • edit as you wish
  • click Save.

Tip:  The Notes Field can also be used to add your own notes, but because this field often downloads with content, we suggest the Research Notes field instead.

Journal titles, abbreviations & EndNote term lists

Journal titles and abbreviations

Referencing styles can require you to use the journal's full title or the abbreviation. EndNote can substitute either the title or abbreviation depending on the output style you are using.

There are 2 ways that you can add journal titles to your Library.

  1. When you add a reference to your EndNote Library, the journal title is saved into the journal term list.
  2. You can add one or more journal term lists to your EndNote Library.

EndNote term lists

To add or edit a Journal Term list:

  1. select Library > Open Term Lists > Journals Term List
  2. select all of the journal titles > Delete List (to select all use Ctrl + A for Windows / Cmd + A for Mac)
  3. next, select the Lists tab > Journals > Import List
  4. select Medical > Open
  5. a message will indicate that all Medical Terms have been inserted into the 'Journals' term list.

Tips:

  • You can insert more than one list, e.g. BioScience as well as Medicine, or manually add individual journal titles that are not in the list.
  • Check the correct journal title or abbreviation in UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory from the Library's subscriptions.
  • Most Output styles are preset to the correct journal title format. If you are having issues with journal titles, you can check the format in your Output style template and edit the style as required.
  • PubMed sends abbreviated journal titles to EndNote. While this is useful for some citation styles, for other styles such as Harvard or APA it doesn't allow the full titles of journals to be displayed in bibliographies.

Visit EndNote 20: Generate full or abbreviated journal names for comprehensive instructions on Term Lists.