Endnote

Working with references in Word

• EndNote works with Microsoft Word to insert citations into documents and it will automatically build a bibliography from these citations. 
• You can also create an "independent bibliography" at the end of a document instead.
• EndNote formats your citations and bibliographies into the style you select in your EndNote Library and in Word. 

Selecting the style

In Word, select the EndNote tab.

• Click the drop-down Style menu and select your chosen style.
• Alternatively, choose Select Another Style to choose from the list of 2,800 included styes (, for example, Author-Date, Chicago, or Vancouver).

Instant formatting

As you insert citations into your Word document, instant formatting calibrates and formats your citations and bibliography.

• Select Instant Formatting is On to see the citation and reference list formatted in your chosen style.
• Select Instant Formatting is Off to work with Unformatted Citations.
• Unformatted citations display as {Author, Year  #Record Number} = {Stark, Year #702}.
• The Record Number is the unique identifier for the citation's reference in your EndNote Library.
• You can turn Instant Formatting On/Off as you go then …
  • Select Update Citations and Bibliography at regular intervals and on completion. 
  • This will alert you to any citation errors or duplicates. 
• If you have duplicates in your EndNote Library, find and delete the duplicate reference. Tip: Check reference quality and keep the best one!
• Select Update Citations and Bibliography and EndNote will prompt you to select the single remaining reference.

To continue working on the document with Unformatted citations, go to the EndNote tab in Word.

On Windows: select Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Unformatted Citations.

On Mac: select Tools > Convert to Unformatted Citations.

Adding citations using Cite While you Write

EndNote gives you some options for adding citations to your paper.  You can Insert 1 or more citations from Word or from EndNote.

Adding citations from Word using Insert Citation

• In your Word document, place your cursor where the citation/s needs to be added.
• On the EndNote tab in Word you will see the Insert Citation icon on the far left.
• Click on the arrow to see the menu of options.
• Select Insert Citation.
• Enter the author name or keyword for the reference you want to cite.
• Select the reference from the list.
• Click Insert at the bottom of the pop-up box.

Adding citations from Word using Insert Selected Citation

• In your Word document, place your cursor where the citation/s needs to be added.
• Go to your EndNote Library and highlight/select the reference you want to cite.
• Go back to Word.
• On the EndNote tab in Word you will see the Insert Citation icon on the far left.
• Click on the arrow to see the menu of options.
• Select Insert Selected Citation.

Inserting citations to Word from your EndNote library

• In your Word document, place your cursor where you need to add the citation/s.
• Go to your EndNote Library and highlight/select the reference you want to cite.
• From the Shortcut Buttons just above the References Panel:
  • Click on the Cite Button. Tip: It is the large double quotation button.
• Go back to Word and you will see the citation added as you go.

Inserting multiple citations to your Word document

EndNote supports adding multiple citations to a sentence.  You can add them simultaneously, or as you find additional research to support your point.

• To insert multiple citations using any of the above methods, simply select more citations.
• Select your citations by holding Control + Click (Windows) or Command + Click (Mac).
• Click on the Insert Citation Icon in EndNote (large inverted comma button above the References Panel).
• Your citations will be added to your Word document.
• You insert additional citations next to an existing citation by placing your cursor next to the closing bracket.
• Follow the remaining instructions to Insert the citations into your Word document.

Drag'n'Drop citations onto your Word or Google doc

Yes, you can drag and drop citations from EndNote onto your open Word doc or Google doc.

1. Drag the citation/s from the EndNote References Panel and drop them onto your Word document to the desired location.
2. The citations drop across as Unformatted Citations. , for example, {Smith, 2022 #78}.
3. Check Instant Formating is On then Update Citations and Bibliography to see them transformed to your selected output style.
4. For your Google doc, once you have completed editing and drag'n'dropping your citations, download as a Word doc and follow step 3.

Click on an option for the for EndNote Insert Citation Libguide by Clarivate for Windows or macOS.

Editing citations in your document

It is not possible to edit citations by typing over the citation in your document as the edits are lost each time EndNote reformats the references list.

To edit the citation:

• click on the citation you want to edit
• select Edit & Manage Citations(s) from the EndNote tab
• your citation will be highlighted in the Edit & Manage Citations pop-up window.

Your highlighted citation will appear in the top pane of the pop-up menu. 

The pull down menu on the right looks like this, so simply select the editing option as required.

• Edit Library Reference.
• Remove Citation.
• Insert Citation.
• Update from My Library.

In the bottom pane of the pop-up menu you will see 4 options.  Format, Prefix, Suffix and Pages.

Select the Format menu to edit and change how a citation displays in your document. 

The citation format editing menu displays as:

• Display as: Author (Year).
• Exclude Author.
• Exclude Year.
• Exclude Author & year.
• Show only in bibliography.

The Prefix field: Use the prefix field to enter text to display before the citation. Spaces are significant. , for example, Johnston (cited in Weakley, 2019).

The Suffix field: Use the suffix field for text after the citation text and for page numbers. , for example, (Weakley, 2019, p.45).

The Pages field: Use the pages field to add page numbers to your citation.

Tip: The pages field does not work with all styles. Using the suffix field is recommended for these.

For the Clarivate LibGuides on EndNote Edit & Manage Citation(s) choose either Windows or MacOS.

Formatting the bibliography layout in your document

Bibliography layout changes made by editing in Word are replaced each time EndNote reformats the bibliography. 

To edit the your bibliography layout:

• Click on the arrow next to Bibliography on the EndNote tab in Word.
• Select the Layout tab.

You can change the font, font size, indents, line spacing and spacing between the references in your bibliography.

Combining long documents , for example, chapters in a thesis

It is essential to Convert to Unformatted Citations when compiling a master document from separate documents. 

• Open your Word document and your EndNote Library.
• Return to Word and click on the EndNote tab.
• Select Instant formatting is Off to add each chapter.
• Once  each chapter is added, Select Instant Formatting is On.
• EndNote will recalibrate your citations and reference list while alerting you of any errors.
• Select Instant Formatting is Off then Instant Formatting is On as you combine each new document. 
• Once complete, select  Instant Formatting is On.
• EndNote then calibrates a single reference list for the entire master document. 

Add a separate bibliography

A formatted reference list can be added to your document without using EndNote to insert citations.

• Open a Word document.
• On the EndNote tab click Go to EndNote.
• Check the style selected so that your reference list formats as required. , for example, APA7th; Vancouver; Chicago.
• Select all references for your list by holding Control + click (Windows) or Command + click (Mac).
• When you have selected all the references you need in your list:
  • Click on the  References menu > Copy Formatted Reference
• Return to Word then Right click > Paste
• Add a Title , for example, Bibliography, then use Word formatting to add line and paragraph spacing as required.

EndNote 21 is now compatible with Google Docs. To use Cite While You Write (CWYW) in Google Docs, users must have EndNote 21 and an EndNote Web account.

The EndNote CWYW add-on for Google Docs is available via Google Workspace Marketplace. Once installed, open your Google Doc and go to the Extensions menu, then select EndNote Cite While You Write > Open. Sign into your EndNote Web account when prompted. For more information see EndNote: Google Docs CWYW.