Some generative AI tools for research you might like to try.
| AI Tools | Purpose |
|---|---|
| Elicit | Provides article suggestions and summaries for literature reviews. Highlights where this was found in the abstracts to make it easier to check for accuracy. Answers research questions. Useful to find seed papers for literature reviews or to check if you have missed anything after searching databases. Sometimes gets information wrong and cannot evaluate reliability. Doesn't include all articles. |
| Explainpaper | Paraphrases and explains sections of PDF documents. Can select what education level the explanation is at. Does not summarise entire articles, complex statistics are not explained well. Some PDF text is not detected. |
| GPTZero |
Predicts whether text was written by a large language model. Gives proportion likely to be written by human or AI. Shows some statistics. Focuses on English only. Results should not be used as a definitive answer. |
| Consensus | Search engine using AI to find answers in scientific research. Includes information from only peer reviewed sources, summarises key findings, and indicates the reputation of journals articles are published in. Includes disputed and retracted articles and does not evaluate the reliability of articles. |
| Research rabbit | Tool for exploring new areas and writing literature reviews. Allows you to uncover new and classic papers related to your area of research easily and quickly. It is a 'citation-based' literature mapping tool optimising your time searching. Uses AI to recommend similar articles based on an article you initially provide. Visualises the relationship of papers with graphs, also good for visualising co-authorships. You can set up alerts for newly published papers. Integrates with Zotero. |
| Semantic Scholar | A free AI powered research tool for scientific literature. Extracts meaning from papers and identifies connections within papers. Holds less scholarly material than Google Scholar. Helps you keep up to date with literature in your field. |
| SCITE ($) | Helps researchers better discover and understand research articles through Smart Citations. It also provides the context of each citation, telling you if an article provides supporting or contrasting evidence, or simply a mention. |
| R Discovery | To stay updated and create an impact with their research. Free app simplifies literature searching. Sources relevant papers from PubMed, CrossRef and Microsoft Academic. Daily recommendations, accommodates institutional access to full text. |
| Jenni AI | Helps you make your writing more efficient. Gives you the options to write, edit and cite. |
| Penelope.ai | Checks references and matches manuscripts with the journal requirements. |
| Litmaps | Literature review software that assists with discovery, collection and comprehension. Generates an interactive map of relevant articles that relate to a seed paper. Gets alerts on new papers. Free version allows for 2 litmaps. |
| Connected papers | A visual tool to help researchers and applied scientists find academic papers relevant to their field of work. Creates a graph that maps literature related to seed paper (or alternatively perform a search to find papers on a topic). Free version available. |
| Julius AI | Powerful AI data analyst that helps you analyze & visualize your data. Chat with your data, create graphs, build forcasting models & more |
| ResearchBuddy | Simplifies the literature review process. |
| Grantable | AI powered grant writing assistant. |
| SCISpace |
Chat with PDF and conduct your literature review. |