This database provides full text access to all current Australian Standards, Joint ISO/Australian Standards, Joint NZ/Australian Standards, current Draft Australian Standards, amendments to Australian Standards and most Standards Australia handbooks. Please note: This resource has a 1 concurrent user license - only 1 user can access the database at a time. If you have trouble gaining access, try again in a few minutes.
Digital Rights Management is enabled to secure PDFs on this platform. To view standards:
Use the Techstreet database with Firefox or Google Chrome browsers only.
To download a standard, right-click on the white download button and select "Save link as". Save the file to your computer.
Find the saved file on your computer and open the PDF using Adobe Acrobat Reader. If your computer opens the file in a different program, close it. Then right click the file, select "Open with" and choose Adobe Acrobat Reader.
If your browser opens the file automatically and it is locked, go back and follow steps 3 and 4 above.
To get your free online copy you will need to register on the Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB) website. If you are already a subscriber to the NCC, you will still need to register. The NCC is only be available online and the ABCB no longer produce hard copy versions of the code.
Work Health and Safety Act 2011 (Cth) (ComLaw)
s. 3(1) The main object of this Act is to provide for a balanced and nationally consistent framework to secure the health and safety of workers and workplaces.
This guide provides an overview of the model Work Health and Safety (WHS) Act. It is designed as a general guide to help people understand their health and safety duties and rights at work. This document is not intended to replace the model WHS Act.
Free access to Australasian public legal materials. Includes primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals) and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access (e.g. law reform and royal commission reports). Also includes a substantial collection of law journals.
Safety management in the workplace is an issue of critical importance to business managers as well as those responsible for OHS in any organisation. However, although the concepts of safety, culture and risk have become increasing matters of concern and are often discussed, they are concepts that are not often clearly understood. This new book from Professor Andrew Hopkins focuses on these concepts, and deals with the complex issues in a clear, informative style that will both inform organisations and companies, and assist them to be better able to create safe environments for their employees and clients, and to mitigate risk.
Managing contractor safety is a challenging aspect of safety management. Contractors are vulnerable to safety risks for a number of reasons. They are typically unfamiliar with the working environment and workplace activities that can impact their work. Some contractors may be reluctant to raise safety concerns. The nature of the contractual relationship may place pressure on the contractor in relation to completing the work with resources available rather than the resources required. Businesses that engage contractors must ensure, so far as practicable, their health and safety. This book provides practical strategies for achieving this duty.
This text links organisational leadership behaviours with health and safety outcomes, covering theory, research and evidence-based best practice. The authors argue that a leader’s impact can be far more far-reaching than is commonly realised, and examine the effects of leadership on safety, physical and psychological wellness and wellbeing. The book explores the theoretical underpinnings of effective leadership styles and behaviours, and advances both research and practice in order to encourage better leadership and healthier, safer organisations.
Occupational health and safety (OHS) is an important focus of governments and organizations throughout the world because there are over 2.78 million fatal and 374 million nonfatal work-related injuries and illnesses experienced by employees every year. Addressing these requires attention to the physical organizational, cultural, and social contexts in which work is undertaken. A multidisciplinary approach is also necessary to find effective solutions. Interestingly, countries and regions address different aspects of OHS. This book, based on research from Australia and other countries, examines how a range of OHS hazards are addressed in these contexts.
Electrical safety continues to account for a significant proportion of workplace fatalities. This book explores the legal obligations relating to electrical safety risks and outlines the practical challenges presented by traditional approaches to safety management when it comes to electrical safety risks.