Standards
- Techstreet: Standards Australia
This database provides full text access to all current Australian Standards, Joint ISO/Australian Standards, Joint NZ/Australian Standards, current Draft Australian Standards, amendments to Australian Standards and most Standards Australia handbooks.
Occupational health and safety law
- Australian Work Health and Safety Law – Legislation (CCH IntelliConnect)This title includes the annotated Work, Health and Safety Act and Work, Health and Safety Regulations, key concepts and terms in the model legislation and the development and harmonisation of OHS law.
- NCC: National Construction CodeThe NCC is only available online and the ABCB no longer produce hard copy versions of the code.
- Model Work Health and Safety ActWork Health and Safety Act 2011 (Cth) (ComLaw)
s. 3(1) The main object of this Act is to provide for a balanced and nationally consistent framework to secure the health and safety of workers and workplaces. - Guide to the model Work Health and Safety ActThis guide provides an overview of the model Work Health and Safety (WHS) Act. It is designed as a general guide to help people understand their health and safety duties and rights at work. This document is not intended to replace the model WHS Act.
- Workplace Health and Safety in CCH IntelliconnectIncludes Australian workplace health and safety legislation, cases and commentary, as well as guides, kits, manuals and more.
- AustLII - Australasian Legal Information Institute
Free access to Australasian public legal materials. Includes primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals) and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access (for example, law reform and royal commission reports). Also includes a substantial collection of law journals.
Books
Safety, Culture and Risk: The Organisational Causes of Disasters by Publication Date: 2015Safety management in the workplace is an issue of critical importance to business managers as well as those responsible for OHS in any organisation. However, although the concepts of safety, culture and risk have become increasing matters of concern and are often discussed, they are concepts that are not often clearly understood. This book from Professor Andrew Hopkins focuses on these concepts, and deals with the complex issues in a clear, informative style that will both inform organisations and companies, and assist them to be better able to create safe environments for their employees and clients, and to mitigate risk.
Leading to Occupational Health and Safety by Publication Date: 2017This text links organisational leadership behaviours with health and safety outcomes, covering theory, research and evidence-based best practice. The authors argue that a leader’s impact can be far more far-reaching than is commonly realised, and examine the effects of leadership on safety, physical and psychological wellness and wellbeing. The book explores the theoretical underpinnings of effective leadership styles and behaviours, and advances both research and practice in order to encourage better leadership and healthier, safer organisations.Occupational Health and Safety: A Multi-Regional Perspective by
Publication Date: 2018Occupational health and safety (OHS) is an important focus of governments and organisations throughout the world because there are over 2.78 million fatal and 374 million nonfatal work-related injuries and illnesses experienced by employees every year. Addressing these requires attention to the physical organisational, cultural, and social contexts in which work is undertaken. A multidisciplinary approach is also necessary to find effective solutions. Interestingly, countries and regions address different aspects of OHS. This book, based on research from Australia and other countries, examines how a range of OHS hazards are addressed in these contexts.
