Legal encyclopedias
- Administrative Law: Halsbury's Laws of Australia (Lexis +)States the law relating to the exercise of the public functions of government and administration. It includes access to information regarding the exercise of these functions, specifically the right to reasons and freedom of information law. It addresses the main avenues of review, whether by one of various tribunals or by judicial review, as well as the factors that impact upon the choice of avenue for review. The role, jurisdiction and functions of the various ombudsman offices also come under this title.
- Constitutional Law: Halsbury's Laws of Australia (Lexis +)Sets out the general principles and structures of Australian constitutional law. This title examines the sources of Australian constitutional law, the nature of the Australian federal system, the structure and powers of the Commonwealth, State and Territorial Parliaments, and the role and functions of the judicial and executive arms of government.
Key case and legislation resources
- Westlaw AU
Access to legislation, case law, commentary, journals, news and precedents that are easy to find and apply.
- Lexis+ Australia
Australian legal database including law reports, legislation, law journals, commentary and texts. Key titles include Halsbury’s Laws of Australia, Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary, CaseBase, and the Australian Law Reports (ALRs).
- CCH iKnowConnect
Digital research platform containing Australian tax and accounting materials. Includes legislation, rulings, cases, commentary, practice aids and news. Titles are organised by practice area, for example, accounting, company law, family law, insurance law and workplace health and safety law.
Other primary and secondary resources
- Civil Trials Bench Book (Judicial Commission of New South Wales)The Commission's bench books and handbooks are practical, loose leaf reference works that assist judicial officers to conduct trials. They include relevant legislation, case law, procedural guidelines, suggested jury directions and sample orders.
- Civil Procedure Bench Book (Judicial College of Victoria)The Civil Procedure Benchbook covers the application of the Civil Procedure Act 2010 (Vic). The Benchbook includes commentary describing the effects of each substantive part of the Act, mini-quizzes to test your knowledge of the Act's provisions, and scenario-based exercises to enable you to apply the Act's provisions in a practical way.
