Legal encyclopedias
- Competition Law – Trade and Commerce: Halsbury’s Laws of Australia (Lexis+)The title trade and commerce states the law in relation to restrictive trade practices in the distribution and supply of goods and services. The competition law sub-title covers the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth) and the Competition Code as well as access to services, collusive conduct, misuse of market power, exclusive dealing, reslae price maintenance, mergers and acquisitions and enforcement and remedies under the Act.
See also Consumer Protection, Consumer Credit, Product Liability, Sale of Goods. - Contract: Halsbury's Laws of Australia (Lexis+)The title contract states the general principles of contract law in Australia. It looks at formation, vitiating factors, discharge and remedies.
- Employment: Halsbury's Laws of Australia (Lexis+)The title employment states the law of the formation, operation and termination of contracts of employment. It includes the rights and duties of employee and employer and the liabilities to third parties arising from the employment relationship. Also included are statutory provisions which modify the employment contract concerning redundancy and reinstatement, leave entitlements, anti-discrimination and employees’ rights.
Key case and legislation resources
- CCH iKnowConnect
Digital research platform containing Australian tax and accounting materials. Includes legislation, rulings, cases, commentary, practice aids and news. Titles are organised by practice area, for example, accounting, company law, family law, insurance law and workplace health and safety law.
- Westlaw AU
Access to legislation, case law, commentary, journals, news and precedents that are easy to find and apply.
- Lexis+ Australia
Australian legal database including law reports, legislation, law journals, commentary and texts. Key titles include Halsbury’s Laws of Australia, Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary, CaseBase, and the Australian Law Reports (ALRs).
- Practical Guidance (access via Lexis+)
A ‘how-to’ of legal practice. Includes practical guidance modules, practice tips, legislation, cases, checklists, tools, forms, and precedents.
Other primary and secondary resources
- Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC)The ACCC is an independent statutory authority that enforces the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (CCA), including the Australian Consumer Law (Schedule 2 of the CCA), (previously the Trade Practices Act 1974) and other legislation. The website contains information for businesses and consumers, online public registers regarding price notifications, warning, mergers etc as required under legislation as well as ACCC publications.
- Australian Competition Law (ACL)The Australian Competition Law (ACL) website provides a Chronology of Australian competition law and an A-Z list of summaries of competition cases, leading competition cases and a selection of international cases.
- Australian Employment and Labour Law Library (AustLII)This Library includes databases of Australian labour and employment law accessible via AustLII. It includes a complete collection of the Commonwealth Arbitration Reports.
