Finding English cases
Key UK case and legislation resources
- Halsbury's Laws of England (Lexis +)Halsbury's Laws of England covers every proposition of English law (whether statutory or common law), and is divided into alphabetically arranged titles. The text of those titles is supplemented by regularly updated annotations.
- ICLR online
A hub of legal authorities dating back to 1865. A dedicated case law platform presenting the cases that matter in a comprehensive and readable format.
- vLexJustis - UK Core
vLexJustis is a multi-jurisdictional citator and legal search engine covering law journal articles as well as cases and legislation, predominantly from the UK and Europe. Full text links are available for some entries.
- British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII)The British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) provides rovides British and Irish case law & legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material.
- HeinOnline
Large image based legal research database. Includes full text law journals, US statutory materials, US supreme court reports, and state and federal case law coverage.
- Lexis+ Australia
Australian legal database including law reports, legislation, law journals, commentary and texts. Key titles include Halsbury’s Laws of Australia, Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary, CaseBase, and the Australian Law Reports (ALRs).
- Legislation.gov.ukThe official website for revised enacted UK legislation from 1267 to present. Excellent source for historic (as originally enacted) version of legislation. Do not rely on it to be completely up-to-date with amendments / consolidation.
Key US case and legislation resources
- Restatements and Principles of the Law (Lexis US Research)Each Restatement or Principles topic is updated by an annual gathering of short synopses of judicial rulings or decisions in which the court has explicitly employed the Restatement or Principles in its decision-making.
Whether followed, followed in part, criticised, or rejected, the Restatements and Principles are widely cited, ignored at peril. These annual compilations of case annotations are useful in determining the scope and value of Restatement and Principles formulations.
- HeinOnline
Large image based legal research database. Includes full text law journals, US statutory materials, US supreme court reports, and state and federal case law coverage.
- Lexis Advance US Research
Contains US, international & other jurisdictions, case law, legislation & secondary sources including journals & law reviews. US federal & state case law, & the Shephard's Citator service, federal public laws & the United States Code Service, as well as state codes, federal & state registers & state constitutions.
- US Code (Official)The official website for the US Code as published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the House of Representatives. The Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.
Research guides
UK guides
- Access to Law (Inner Temple Library)An extensive legal portal to a range of online material produced and maintained by Inner Temple Library.
- A Guide to the UK Legal System (GlobaLex, NYULaw)This Guide provides information about the UK legal system, primary and secondary legal sources, laws reform and the legal profession in the UK. Extensive links are freely available websites and materials.
US guides
- Law Library of Congress - Legal Research GuidesThe guides listed below can help you begin a legal research project by offering quick techniques and a selection of legal resources and tools. Includes beginner's guide to legal research and researching judicial decisions.