Secondary sources overview
Key Australian encyclopedias and dictionaries
- Halsbury's Laws of AustraliaHalsbury's Laws of Australia is a comprehensive legal encyclopaedia written in a clear, concise form covering all Australian law.
- Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary (Lexis +)Contains over 25,000 definitions covering every subject area of law. Terms are supported by Australian legislative and judicial authority, wherever it exists.
- Laws of AustraliaThe Laws of Australia encyclopaedia (TLA) is a complete library of legal principles covering over 320 topics and every Australian jurisdiction.
Key secondary sources databases
- Informit
Large collection of multiple Australian research databases. Includes full text, indexes and abstracts to journals, books, conference proceedings and other research material. Includes A+ Education, Health Collection, Indigenous Collection, Australian Public Affairs Full Text, AGIS Plus Text, Literature & Culture Collection, Australian Criminology Database, Business Collection, Families & Society Collection, and more.
- HeinOnline
Large image based legal research database. Includes full text law journals, US statutory materials, US supreme court reports, and state and federal case law coverage.
- CCH iKnowConnect
Digital research platform containing Australian tax and accounting materials. Includes legislation, rulings, cases, commentary, practice aids and news. Titles are organised by practice area, for example, accounting, company law, family law, insurance law and workplace health and safety law.
- Legal Source
Index and full text database of scholarly law journals. The collection is international in coverage and includes book reviews and case citations.
- Legal Scholarship Network
LSN is a component of the Social Science Research Network (SSRN). It includes papers and ejournals from law research centres and schools. Examples include the Max Planck Institute for Intellectual Property & Competition Law Research Paper Series, the Aust National University College of Law Legal Studies Research Paper Series, Notre Dame Law School Legal Studies Research Paper Series, and the Harvard Law School, Public Law & Legal Theory Research Paper Series.
- Kluwer Arbitration
Full text materials in the field of international commercial arbitration. Includes conventions, legislation, rules, case law, and commentary.
- ProQuest Criminal Justice DatabaseA comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Includes international scholarly journals, correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, and crime blogs.
