Referencing

Need help with referencing styles? Start with this helpful guide.

Lecture

Bibliography

Author’s surname, first name. “Title of Lecture.” Course Code: Course Name. Lecture at Location, Date

Porter, C. “Introduction to the Prophets.” THBS204: Biblical Prophets. Class Lecture at the Australian Catholic University, August 18th, 2018.

In-text

First Footnote

1. C. Porter, “Introduction to the Prophets.” THBS204: Biblical Prophets (Class Lecture at the Australian Catholic University, August 18, 2018)

Subsequent Footnotes

2. Porter, “Introduction to the Prophets”

Notes

  • If the author's given name is provided, use the full name
  • Words in the titles and subtitles are caplitalised, except articles and prepositions
  • The first footnote includes all of the lecture information
  • Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the lecturer's surname and the lecture title
  • The second line of the Bibliography entry is indented
  • The first line of the Footnote entry is indented
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and bibliography format

PowerPoint slides

Bibliography

Author's surname, Firstname "Title of Lecture/Presentation", Power Point presentation Unit Code: Unit Name, University, date, url

Cook, Sara, "The Historical Jesus",  THBS501: Biblical Studies, Power Point presentation, Australian Catholic University, August 20, 2018. https://leo.acu.edu.au  

In-text

First Footnote

6. Sara Cook, "The Historical Jesus", THBS501: Biblical Studies, (Power Point presentation, Australian Catholic University, August 20, 2018.) https://leo.acu.edu.au

Subsequent Footnote

7. Cook, "The Historical Jesus"

Notes

  • The information about the lecture is put in brackets for the footnotes, but not the bibliography
  • If the presentation is available online, include the url.
  • The first footnote includes all of the lecture information
  • Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the lecturer's surname and the lecture title
  • If the author's given name is provided, use the full name
  • Words in the titles and subtitles are caplitalised, except articles and prepositions
  • If the book is not a first edition, place the edition number after the title of the book, eg: Book Title. 2nd ed.)
  • The author is inverted for the Bibliography but not for the footnotes
  • The second line of the Bibliography entry is indented
  • The first line of the Footnote entry is indented
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and bibliography format