Key databases
- LawlexLawlex provides links to authorised legislation (Bills, Acts and Regulations) in all Australian jurisdictions.
- Federal Register of LegislationThe Federal Register of Legislation (the Legislation Register) is the authorised whole-of-government website for Commonwealth legislation and related documents. It contains the full text and details of the lifecycle of individual laws and the relationships between them (formally Comlaw).
- Capital Monitor
LexisNexis Capital Monitor provides parliamentary, political, legislative, regulatory and judicial news and information almost as soon as it is available. Coverage includes federal, state and territory Parliaments, government departments, agencies, courts and key stakeholders in public policy, including industry, associations and not-for-profits.
- NSW LegislationOfficial legislation website of NSW. The site contains authorised versions of NSW legislation (including the Gazette). It contains current and historical legislation and has advanced searching and browsing features.
- Victorian Legislation and Parliamentary DocumentsOfficial legislation website of Vic. The site contains authorised versions of Victorian legislation.
- Queensland LegislationOfficial legislation website of Qld. The site contains authorised versions of Queensland legislation.
Key Statutory Interpretation Acts
- Acts Interpretation Act 1901 (Cth) (Lawlex)"This Act is like a dictionary and manual to use when reading and interpreting Commonwealth Acts and instruments made under Commonwealth Acts." (Acts Interpretation Act 1901 (Cth) s 1A). Section 15AB provides for the use of 'extrinsic material in the interpretation of an Act'.
- Interpretation Act 1987 (NSW) (Lawlex)Section 34 provides for the use of 'extrinsic material in the interpretation of Acts and statutory rules'.
- Interpretation of Legislation Act 1984 (Vic) (Lawlex)Section 35 provides that … 'In the interpretation of a provision of an Act or subordinate instrument …. 35(b) consideration may be given to any matter or document that is relevant including but not limited to:…'
- Acts Interpretation Act 1954 No. 3 (QLD) (Lawlex)Section 14B states that…, "Subject to subsection (2), in the interpretation of a provision of an Act, consideration may be given to extrinsic material capable of assisting in the interpretation…"