Law

The Foreign Law Guide (Brill) covers about 190 jurisdictions. Information provided for each jurisdiction includes: government & legal system, primary sources including existence of translations and official websites, other materials and laws by subject.

The Encyclopedia contains reports on a selected set of countries' legal systems as well as the methodology of comparative law, specific areas of law (such as administrative law and criminal law) and specific topics (such as accident compensation and consideration).

The Encyclopedia is the first broad, systematic and international compendium of comparative law. It incorporates not only detailed descriptions of the legal systems of more than 150 countries but, above all, thoroughly documented comparative analyses of the main issues in civil and commercial law and related issues world-wide.

The International Law Library includes both the International Treaties Collection (27 Databases) and the International Courts and Tribunals Collection (38 Databases) amongst its 76 databases.
Other key materials include the UN General Assembly Resolutions, 7 specialised international law journals and Law Reform publications and journal articles concerning international and humanitarian law.
Go to Global > All Countries to access individual country LII sites or for over 30 countries see the bottom of the WorldLII homepage: eg CanLII (Canada) or SAFLII (Southern Africa).

To provide a starting point for researching foreign, international, and comparative law, the Law Library of Congress has prepared guides to reference sources, compilations, citations guides, periodicals (indexes and databases), dictionaries, Web resources, free public websites, subscription-based services, subject-specific websites, and country overviews.

Published by Hauser Global Law School Program, New York University School of Law. Go to 'Foreign Law Research' for a list of countries.