Legal encyclopedia
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL)The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) is a comprehensive online resource containing over 1,700 peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law.
Key public and private international law resources
- Oxford Public International Law
A comprehensive single location providing integrated access across Oxford's international law services. Includes the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Oxford Oxford Reports on International Law and Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law.
- Oxford Reports on International Law
Covers public international case law, reporting on international courts, domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. Case reports contain the full text of each decision, headnote, as well as analytical commentary and English translations of a number of key non-English decisions.
- HeinOnline
Large image based legal research database. Includes full text law journals, US statutory materials, US supreme court reports, and state and federal case law coverage.
- International Law Library (WorldLII)The International Law Library includes both the International Treaties Collection (27 Databases) and the International Courts and Tribunals Collection (38 Databases) amongst its 76 databases.
Other key materials include the UN General Assembly Resolutions, 7 specialised international law journals and Law Reform publications and journal articles concerning international and humanitarian law.
Go to Global > All Countries to access individual country LII sites or for over 30 countries see the bottom of the WorldLII homepage: eg CanLII (Canada) or SAFLII (Southern Africa).
Key foreign law resources
- Foreign Law Guide (Brill)The Foreign Law Guide (Brill) covers about 190 jurisdictions. Information provided for each jurisdiction includes: government & legal system, primary sources including existence of translations and official websites, other materials and laws by subject.
- International Encyclopedia of Comparative Law OnlineThe Encyclopedia is the first broad, systematic and international compendium of comparative law. It incorporates not only detailed descriptions of the legal systems of more than 150 countries but, above all, thoroughly documented comparative analyses of the main issues in civil and commercial law and related issues world-wide.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
A subject index to selected international and comparative law periodicals and collections of essays. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the UK, Canada, and Australia. Coverage 1960 - current.
Other foreign and international law resources
- International Court of JusticeThe International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations (UN).
- International Criminal CourtThe International Criminal Court (ICC) is an independent international organisation, and is not part of the United Nations system. The Rome Statute entered into force on 1 July 2002 after ratification by 60 countries. The Legal Tools Database is available via this website.
- The Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH)This Conference website presents general information concerning the Hague Conference as well as detailed and updated information on the Hague Conventions including texts of the Conventions, full status reports, bibliographies, information regarding the authorities designated under the Conventions on judicial and administrative co-operation, and explanatory reports.
- Kluwer Arbitration
Full text materials in the field of international commercial arbitration. Includes conventions, legislation, rules, case law, and commentary.
United nations
- United Nations Treaty SeriesUN collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the Secretariat since 1946.
The League of Nations Treaty Series is also available from this page. - UN OHCHR Juris DatabaseUnited Nations, Office of the High Commissioner of Human Rights database. It facilitates access to decisions on individual complaints on human rights violations.
International law research guides
- Law Library of Congress - Foreign and International Legal Research GuidesTo provide a starting point for researching foreign, international, and comparative law, the Law Library of Congress has prepared guides to reference sources, compilations, citations guides, periodicals (indexes and databases), dictionaries, web resources, free public websites, subscription-based services, subject-specific websites, and country overviews.
- Introduction to Public International Law Research (GlobaLex - New York University School of Law)This guide is intended as an introduction to public international law and to help researchers find the most used sources and materials in the area with a primary focus on electronic research. This Guide provides links to other guides to public international law research.