Universal declaration of human rights
- Universal Declaration of Human RightsThe Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) is a milestone document in the history of human rights. Drafted by representatives with different legal and cultural backgrounds from all regions of the world, it set out, for the first time, fundamental human rights to be universally protected.
Legal encyclopedias
- Civil and Political Rights: Halsbury's Laws of Australia (Lexis+)This title provides an account of enforceable civil and political rights in Australia. In the absence of an Australian bill of rights, this title has been structured on the basis of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights 1966, which provides a primary source of substantive civil and political rights for Australian law.
- Human Rights: The Laws of Australia (Westlaw AU)Contents include:
21.1. Development and Definition of Human Rights
21.2. The Australian Legal Foundation
21.3. Machinery
21.4. Civil and Political Rights
21.9. Discrimination
21.10. Equality and the Rule of Law.
Key Australian resources
- Australian Human Rights CommissionUseful sections include news, complaints, conciliation register, publications, legal submissions, federal discrimination law online, decisions 1985-2001.
- Links to Human Rights Organisations and ResourcesAustralian Human Rights Commission webpage containing links to external websites about human rights.
- Charter of Human Rights and Responsibilities Bench Book / Judicial College of VictoriaThe Bench Book includes chapters on each Charter right, and on each of the Charter’s operative provisions including: statutory interpretation; obligations on public authorities and justifiable limitations on rights.
- CCH iKnowConnect
Digital research platform containing Australian tax and accounting materials. Includes legislation, rulings, cases, commentary, practice aids and news. Titles are organised by practice area, for example, accounting, company law, family law, insurance law and workplace health and safety law.
Key International resources
- Oxford Public International Law
A comprehensive single location providing integrated access across Oxford's international law services. Includes the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Oxford Oxford Reports on International Law and Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law.
- Oxford Reports on International Law
Covers public international case law, reporting on international courts, domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. Case reports contain the full text of each decision, headnote, as well as analytical commentary and English translations of a number of key non-English decisions.
- HeinOnline
Large image based legal research database. Includes full text law journals, US statutory materials, US supreme court reports, and state and federal case law coverage.
- UN OHCHR Juris DatabaseUnited Nations, Office of the High Commissioner of Human Rights database. It facilitates access to decisions on individual complaints on human rights violations.
- Human Rights in WordLII (WorldLII)The Human rights WordLII category shows every resource on WorldLII that is to do with human rights. It includes courts and case law, NGO's, reports and research, UN activities and treaties.
Other Australian primary and secondary resources
- Modern Slavery: Guidance for Australian Courts / Judicial College of VictoriaThis guide focuses on how modern slavery issues are likely to arise in Australian courts and provides useful information to assist judicial officers in hearing such cases. It focuses on how modern slavery issues are likely to arise in Australian courts and provides useful information to assist judicial officers in hearing such cases.
- Australian Human Rights Law Library (AustLII)This library includes databases of Australian human rights law accessible via AustLII. It includes legislation, cases and journal reports as well as Australian human rights commission reports.
International human rights law research guides
- Researching International Human Rights (GlobaLex - New York University School of Law)This guide explains the procedures of the major international human rights systems because it is procedures that create the need to record or communicate.
- Library Research Guides: Human Rights (OHCHR Library)This link takes you to 15 guides on different human rights topics.