A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Includes international scholarly journals, correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, and crime blogs.
A leading full-text database for criminal justice and criminology research. It contains full text for many important journals and magazines related to forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation, history of crime, and substance abuse and addiction.
Please note: All Informit collections are now searchable via this platform, including; A+ Education, Health Collection, APAFT, AGIS Plus Text, Literature & Culture Collection, APAIS, CINCH, MAIS-ATSIS, ATSIHealth, Health & Society, FAMILY-ATSIS
This edited volume, Modern Slavery and Human Trafficking, is a collection of reviewed and relevant research chapters, offering a comprehensive overview of recent developments in the field of modern slavery and human trafficking.
Human rights violations and traumatic events often comingle in victims' experiences; however, the human rights framework and trauma theory are rarely deployed together to illuminate such experiences. This edited volume explores the intersection of trauma and human rights by presenting the development and current status of each of these frameworks, examining traumatic experiences and human rights violations across a range of populations and describing efforts to remediate them.
This unique textbook features substantial attention to theory, history, international and regional institutions, and the role of transnational actors in the protection and promotion of human rights. Its purpose is to explore the difficult and contentious politics of human rights, and how those political dimensions have been addressed at the national, regional, and especially international levels.
This open access book critically explores what child protection policy and professional practice would mean if practice was grounded in human rights standards. This book inspires a new direction in child protection research – one that critically assesses child protection policy and professional practice with regard to human rights in general, and the rights of the child in particular. Each chapter author seeks to approach the rights of the child from their own academic field of interest and through a comparative lens, making the research relevant across nation-state practices.
Academic, public, school, and special libraries are all institutions of human rights and social justice, with an increasingly apparent commitment to equality, to ethical principles based on rights and justice, and to programs that meet needs related to human rights and social justice.
This book is an outcome of a five-year international collaboration among partners that share a common legacy of British colonial laws that criminalise same-sex intimacy and gender identity/expression. The project sought to facilitate learning from each other and to create outcomes that would advance knowledge and social justice.
The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner is required to report annually to the Attorney-General regarding the exercise and enjoyment of human rights by Australia's Indigenous peoples. This provision also allows the Commissioner to make recommendations as to action that should be taken to ensure such enjoyment.
Social Justice Research publishes original papers that have broad implications for social scientists investigating the origins, structures, and consequences of justice in human affairs. The journal encompasses justice-related research work using traditional and novel approaches, and spanning the social sciences and beyond: psychology, sociology, anthropology, economics, social policy research, political science, law, management science, and others.
Provides an internationally unique forum for leading research on the themes of poverty and social justice. Focusing on poverty and social exclusion, the journal explores links with social security (including pensions and tax credits), employment, area regeneration, housing, health, education and criminal justice, as well as issues of ethnicity, gender, disability and other social inequalities as they relate to social justice.
An interdisciplinary forum for debate on significant and controversial social issues. Articles which discuss particular social issues, review conceptual problems, present empirical reports and debate policy alternatives.
The journal encompasses justice-related research work using traditional and novel approaches, and spanning the social sciences and beyond: psychology, sociology, anthropology, economics, social policy research, political science, law, management science, and others.
Established in 1991, the Australian Journal of Human Rights (AJHR) is Australia’s first peer-reviewed journal devoted exclusively to human rights development in Australia, the Asia-Pacific region and internationally. The journal aims to raise awareness of human rights issues by providing a forum for scholarship and discussion.
APO is an open access evidence platform – making public policy research and resources accessible and useable. As a unique public good with a trusted reputation, they champion open access and evidence-informed decision-making.
The Attorney-General's Department coordinate's national security and emergency management policies and practices. The department also represents the government in national and international legal, justice, security and emergency-related matters and fora.
The Australian Human Rights Institute break silos between academic research and real-world problems to progress human rights. They deliver interdisciplinary, applied research, empowering communities and educating the next generation of human rights leaders.
ANTAR is a trusted Ally and Thought Leader providing Australians with quality information on priorities concerning First Nations rights – sharing with all Australians independent research and analysis. They are a committed and active movement of Australians who work for First Nations rights and justice.
Black Lives Matter was founded in 2013 in response to the acquittal of Trayvon Martin's murderer. The organisation's mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on black communities.
International organization founded in 1945 committed to maintaining international peace and security; developing friendly relations among nations; promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights.
SCIE develops and promotes knowledge about good practice in social care and social work. The Institute identifies useful information, research and examples of good practice, and uses this to develop guidelines for good practice and proposals for further research to inform good practice.
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights declares that human rights are universal – to be enjoyed by all people, no matter who they are or where they live. The Universal Declaration includes civil and political rights, like the right to life, liberty, free speech and privacy.
A creative think tank that produces new and dynamic perspectives on human rights issues with a focus on children’s rights. CRIN presses for rights and campaigns for a genuine shift in how governments and societies view and treat children.