To join the library as an alumni member, please contact your local ACU library branch. Further information and conditions can be found on our Alumni page.
How to access log-in databases for alumni members.
- After joining, you will receive an account creation email from our databases access platform.
- Set up a password for the new account.
- Visit the MyAthens authorisation page and sign in.
- Leave the MyAthens tab open and return to this alumni databases page.
- Select your preferred database/s from the log-in databases list.
- You will be taken to the database page and should be logged in. You might see 'Access provided by Australian Catholic University' somewhere in the banner.
- You will need to repeat signing-in/authorising the next time you want to access the databases.
Log-in databases
- Annual Reviews
A nonprofit publisher which produces review journals in the biomedical, physical and social sciences.
The articles:
- capture current understanding of a topic
- set the historical context
- highlight questions that remain to be addressed and the likely course of research in upcoming years
- outline the practical applications and general significance of research to society.
- AustLit - Australian Literature GatewayA large authoritative database about Australian literature and storytelling, with biographical and bibliographical information, full text, exhibitions and rich online content. Includes production information for works of fiction and poetry, writing for the theatre, biographical and travel writing, writing for film and television, criticism and reviews. Also provides information about publishers, film and theatre companies, writers’ centres and festivals, and literary agencies.
- Australian Privacy Law HandbookA guide to privacy laws and managing privacy and data security risks associated with the collection, use, disclosure and storage of personal information.
- The Chronicle of Higher EducationIn-depth and breaking news on a variety of topics of interest in higher education.
- Credo Reference
Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books as well as images, audio files, and videos. Topic Pages offer a starting point and pathways for further research. Includes The Macquarie Dictionary.
- Duke University PressAcademic books and journals across humanities and social sciences, published by Duke University press.
- HeinOnline
Large image based legal research database. Includes full text law journals, US statutory materials, US supreme court reports, and state and federal case law coverage.
- Journal of the American Medical AssociationThe Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) features original research, reviews, and editorials covering all aspects of the biomedical sciences.
- Mary Ann LiebertJournals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, engineering, and biotechnology.
- Project MuseFull text scholarly journals and recent ebooks in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Subjects include literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
Open access databases
These resources are open to all. They can also be accessed from our Databases A-Z list with the Type filter set to Open Access.
You may also consider:
- open educational resources (OERs)
- Searching Library search, then selecting the Show only → Open access filter (in the refine my results area).