Key databases
- Global HealthA Public Health database with coverage across such specialist topics of community and public health; communicable diseases; tropical diseases; human nutrition; medicinal and poisonous plants.
- Medline Complete
Authoritative medical information from over 5,400 journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.
- PubMedMajor medical and biomedical database from NLM (includes Medline). Tip: Try the 'findit@ACU’ links to search for full text access from our other subscriptions.
- Web of Science Core CollectionMulti-disciplinary scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
More databases for public health
Ereference
- Credo Reference
Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books as well as images, audio files, and videos. Topic Pages offer a starting point and pathways for further research. Includes The Macquarie Dictionary.
- Australian Bureau of Statistics
Official Australian statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters. Includes Australian census data. Updated weekdays at 11.30am.
Images & Video
- Trove
A vast range of Australian collections from cultural, community and research organisations. Includes books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, theses, diaries, archives and more. Provided by the National Library of Australia.
- SMART imagebaseCollection of high quality illustrations and animations on a range of health science topics. Users may download images for educational, non-commercial use in lectures, presentations, slide shows and more.
- Wellcome Collection
Find thousands of freely licensed (CC) digital books, artworks, photos and images of historical library materials and museum objects. Themes range from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. This database contains a range of material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages.
- Creative CommonsCC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Content from a range of sources is included, from the Science Museum UK to the Smithsonian.
- ClickView
Access visually stunning, curriculum-aligned video content and teacher resources, plus contextual on-demand TV, your own video library and interactive question layers for formative assessment.