Search databases for online journal articles and books relating to your topic. Explore more databases at the Database A-Z list, or dive straight into journals from Journal Search on the ACU Library website.
A series of 300+ volumes, spanning subjects across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.
A single point of entry to search or browse across Oxford University Press’s research books and academic journals. Includes full text books and articles which can be read online in HTML as well as downloaded/printed in PDF format.
Large, multidisciplinary database with a diverse mix of scholarly journals, professional & trade publications, and magazines. Covers business, health & medicine, history, literature & language, science & technology, social sciences, and the arts.
Full text scholarly journals and recent ebooks in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Subjects include literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
The Journal of Contemporary History is a quarterly peer-reviewed international journal publishing articles and book reviews on twentieth-century history (post-1930), covering a broad range of historical approaches including social, economic, political, diplomatic, intellectual and cultural.
JGH publishes articles that examine structures, processes and theories of global change, inequality and stability, as well as articles focusing on smaller scales that are in keeping with, or transcend, the boundaries of historical polities or environments.
The Journal of Australian Colonial History produces one volume annually on subjects including convict history, bushranging, Aboriginal-settler relations, nineteenth century legal and medical developments, colonial nationalism and republicanism, colonial literature, imperial history, biography, and various aspects of Australia's early social, economic and political history.
Australian Journal of Politics and History publishes papers addressing significant problems of interest to those working in the fields of history, political science and international relations. Articles explore the intersection between politics and history, intellectual history, political history, and the history of political thought.
Medieval Encounters promotes discussion and dialogue across cultural, linguistic and disciplinary boundaries on the interactions of Jewish, Christian and Muslim cultures from the fourth to the sixteenth century C.E.
The Medieval History Journal is a peer-reviewed journal that encourages thematic, temporal or spatial transitions over the centuries comprising the medieval and the early modern epochs providing scope for comparative and transcultural conversations within scholarship.
Renaissance Quarterly is the leading American journal of Renaissance studies, encouraging connections between different scholarly approaches to bring together material spanning the period from 1300 to 1700.
Peer-reviewed papers on Roman history and Latin literature form the larger part of each issue. Papers on art history and archaeology are also published. The journal seeks to publish articles with wide implications for our understanding of the Roman world.
This guide is intended for students and scholars working on all historical periods and topics in the humanities and social sciences--especially for those who do not think of themselves as experts in quantification, "big data," or "digital humanities." The authors reveal quantification to be a powerful and versatile tool, applicable to a myriad of materials from the past. Their book, accessible to complete beginners, offers detailed advice and practical tips on how to build a dataset from historical sources and how to categorize it according to specific research questions.
Historians make research queries on Google, ProQuest, and the HathiTrust. They garner information from keyword searches, carried out across millions of documents, their research shaped by algorithms they rarely understand. Historians often then visit archives in whirlwind trips marked by thousands of digital photographs, subsequently explored on computer monitors from the comfort of their offices. They may then take to social media or other digital platforms, their work shaped through these new forms of pre- and post-publication review. Almost all aspects of the historian's research workflow have been transformed by digital technology. In other words, all historians - not just Digital Historians - are implicated in this shift. The Transformation of Historical Research in the Digital Age equips historians to be self-conscious practitioners by making these shifts explicit and exploring their long-term impact. This title is also available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.
Explores creative and collaborative research methods within the social sustainability sciences. The term co-creativity is used in reference to both individual methods and overarching research approaches that, through socially inclusive forms of action and reflection, stimulate alternative understandings of why and how things are, and how they could be. Supported by a wide-ranging series of in-depth—including chapters on militant research and guerrilla narrative, decolonial participative approaches, appreciate inquiry and care-ethics, deep-mapping, photo-voice, community-arts, digital participatory mapping, and living labs—the edited collection critically reviews the potential of creative, collaborative and transdisciplinary forms of research praxis to nurture just and transformative processes of change