Key databases
- ERIC (Ebscohost)A key database for Education that includes scholarly journals published globally with up-to-date research.
- Education SourceLarge collection of full text education journals which includes international English language journals, books, and yearbooks.
- ProQuest Education Database
Full text journals and dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education. Includes literature on primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, and adult education.
- Pathways to Research in Education
Comprehensive summaries of popular education topics. Each topic includes keywords, overview, important concepts and a bibliography of relevant literature.
- Education in VideoCollection of videos especially for training and developing teachers. Provided by Alexander Street Press.
- ClickView
Access visually stunning, curriculum-aligned video content and teacher resources, plus contextual on-demand TV, your own video library and interactive question layers for formative assessment.
Ereference
- A Dictionary of EducationCovers specialised vocabulary and terminology which may be unfamiliar to those new to the field of Education.
- Gale Reference: EducationConsists of general Education encyclopaedias and other useful handbooks.
- Sage Knowledge: EducationIncludes a list of Education sub-topics with a variety of resources eg. encyclopaedias, handbooks and videos.
Australian curriculum and teaching resources
- ABC educational resourcesABC Education provides high-quality educational content to use in the classroom. All resources are free and mapped to the Australian Curriculum, covering English, Maths, Science, Geography, History, The Arts and Technologies, including STEM.
- Australian curriculum lessonsThis website is for teachers to access a range of lesson plans, teaching resources, posters, unit overviews and more. All resources are aligned to the curriculum.
- Scootle: Education Services AustraliaScootle is a national digital learning repository which provides Australian teachers with access to learning items aligned to core areas of the Australian Curriculum. ACU users must register before signing in.
- Teach starterReady to use,curriculum aligned teaching resources for Australian primary teachers and students.
- ScanScan is a refereed online journal offering articles about quality learning, teaching ideas, research and emerging trends.
English
- English for the Australian curriculumThis resource is a national initiative to support the teaching and learning of English and literacy from Foundation to Year 10.
- Global words: English for global educationThe twelve units of work in Global Words have been produced by World Vision Australia and the Primary English Teaching Association Australia (PETAA) to integrate the teaching and learning of English and global citizenship education.
- Reading AustraliaCreated by the Australian Copyright Agency Reading Australia brings together teaching resources based on Australian texts. The resources for primary level were developed by the Primary English Teaching Association Australia (PETAA) and the Australian Literacy Educators’ Association (ALEA), while resources for secondary level were jointly commissioned by the Australian Association for the Teaching of English (AATE) and the NSW English Teachers’ Association.
- Primary English Teaching Association Australia (PETAA)PETAA is a national professional association supporting primary school educators in the teaching and learning of English and literacies across the curriculum.
Mathematics
Science
PDHPE
- ACHPER Active & Healthy MagazineEmphasis is on informative articles of interest to practitioners and for use in the classroom or on the field.
SOSE
LANTITE
Educational organisations
ACT
NSW
QLD
VIC
Open access resources
Open access resources are available online with no limits on reuse, re-purposing or sharing. These books, journals and educational resources are also available after you leave university.
- MERLOT Open Access Resources: EducationProvides access to curated online learning and support materials by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
- OER ConsortiumMost of the textbooks on this list have Creative Commons (CC) open licenses or GNU-Free Document License. Others are U.S. government documents in the public domain (PD).
- Directory of Open Access JournalsIndexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
