Provides the full text of relevant Federal, state and territory legislation. FEDERAL: Civil Aviation (Carriers' Liability) Act 1959, Health and Other Services (Compensation) Act 1995 and other plus excerpts of the Competition and Consumer Act 2010. NSW: Civil Liability Act 2002, Defamation Act 2005, Health Care Liability Act 2001 and others. VIC: Defamation Act 2005, Wrongs Act 1958, Medical Treatment Act 1988 and others.
Civil Liability Australia reproduces all the new civil liability legislation, and provides commentary. It includes a thorough analysis of the key principles of civil liability, including new principles introduced with the legislation, cross-jurisdictional comparisons, and guidance on how the new legislation has been, or might be, interpreted in the courts.
COMMONWEALTH: Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth) [extracts], Commonwealth Volunteers Protection Act 20013 (Cth).
NSW: Civil Liability Act 2002 (NSW).
VIC: Wrongs Act 1958 (Vic), Road Management Act 2004 (Vic) [Extracts].
The Treasury administer the Commonwealth Volunteers Protection Act 2003 (Cth). The Treasury portfolio includes the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC). The ACCC administer the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth).
The Departmetn of Health administer the Medical Indemnity Act 2002 (Cth). This section of the Departmetn of Health website contains information relating to medical indemnity programs. This information includes details of medical indemnity legislation and the findings of the recent medical indemnity policy review, along with details and frequently asked questions relating to current Medical Indemnity programs: the Premium Support Scheme, the Run-Off Cover Scheme, the High Cost Claims Scheme, and the Exceptional Claims Scheme
The ALRC conducts inquiries - sometimes called references - into areas of law reform at the request of the Attorney-General of Australia. The ALRC website provides information about all ALRC inquiries since the Commission was established in 1975. This page contains links to ALRC inquiries related to TORTS.
The New South Wales Law Reform Commission began operation in 1966, and was formally created by statute in 1967, as the first permanent body in Australia charged with the task of proposing changes to the general law.
This webpage outlines the purpose of the Major Torts List of the Supreme Court of Victoria and provides a link to Practice Note No. 1 of 2012 provides guidance on how proceedings in the Major Torts List are managed.
he Victorian Law Reform Commission is an independent, government-funded organisation that develops, reviews and recommends reform of Victoria's state laws. The Commission has a charter to consult with the community and advise the Attorney-General on how to improve and update Victorian laws.
A website and blog developed by Justin Castelan a barrister and defamation law specialist. The website includes a “Hall of Fame” of 10 notable defamation cases, a “Defamation Basics” page outlining defamation law in Australia and a blog of recent articles.
This website contains information about the Ipp Report of the Review of .... , links to Research conducted by the Law Council of Australia inlcuding an independent study by Prof. Ted Wright, Dean of the Law Faculty of the University of Newcastle, entitled National Trends in Personal Injury Litigation: Before and After 'Ipp'' and other materials.