This guide suits all skill levels. Detailed photos cover techniques from sewing a hem to creating a couture look-alike. Inspiring step-by-step guide for any sewing enthusiast who wants to create, alter and repair clothes in style.
This book leads readers through the essential stages of creating a garment, from pattern cutting to construction and draping a mannequin, to finishes and haberdashery. Includes interviews with designers and fashion-industry creatives.
A guide to sewing, covering both hand and machine techniques used in crafts, dressmaking and soft furnishings. It shows how to put in an invisible zip, make trimmings, how to alter clothes as well as decorative techniques such as appliques.
This is an incomparable collection of the best sewing information available, it promises to thoroughly explain the full range of garment sewing techniques. It covers all the bases for anyone who delights in sewing: tools; materials; basic sewing; garment construction; tailoring techniques; even lingerie techniques, pressing tips, embellishments; and, much, much more.
This book contains comprehensive instructions for understanding pattern markings, selecting fabrics and notions, hand-stitching and mending, pressing, and measuring to fit, everything necessary for making professional and fashionable garments.
Guides the reader through taking pattern profiles; learning about notions, the overlock machine and other sewing tools, straightening ends, cutting, matching fabric, and marking accurately; also covers construction techniques from interfacing and collars to cuffs, waistlines, and zippers.
This title unites the history, theory and practice of fashion design. Coverage includes how to interpret a brief, building a collection, sketchbooks and drawing tools, choosing fabric, fit, cutting and making techniques, portfolio presentation and fashion marketing and economics. Also available as an eBook
Shows how the design process can be successfully applied to satisfy market needs and trends. Has a problem-solving approach, with practical design projects and portfolio exercises to encourage readers to develop their innovation, experimentation and versatility. Available as an eBook
Provides a comprehensive view of the creative process of designing and creating fashion. It shows how a designer works with fabrics, colours and shapes and combines them with inspiration and new ideas to creat garments that suit the mood of the times and allow the wearer to express their individuality.
Every fashion collection begins with research. But how do you start? How much should you do? How do you use that research? Fashion Design Research is designed to answer these questions and demystify the process for students.
Divided into four parts, this book reviews fibres and their properties; the process of turning fibres into yarns and fabrics; fabric finishing techniques; and transforming fabric into apparel, from design and manufacture to marketing.