Key database for Education that includes scholarly journals published globally. In the field of Religious Education, topics researched include: Catholic Schools, ethical instruction, spiritual development, values education, beliefs, hermeneutics, teaching and educational methods.
Key database for Theology that includes scholarly journals published globally. Alongside the education databases, ATLA covers similar topics as well as scholarly essays and critical interpretations of the Scriptures.
A comprehensive exploration of the major themes in RE research and pedagogy exploring religious education's role in confronting controversial issues and the implications this has for teaching, learning and research. Topics such as citizenship, human rights, and identity are discussed.
This book examines the current debates surrounding RE and puts forward a new approach to teaching the subject that is non-faith based and focused on conceptual enquiry and the development of a clear pedagogy.
An essential aim of inter-religious education is the promotion of understanding and engagement between people of different religions and has great potential to contribute to the common good of the global community.
The edited collection investigates how to pass on a Catholic heritage as a "living tradition" in diversely populated schools and communities. In this way it explores and asserts the proper identity of Catholic Religious Education in dialogue with Catechetics and with the wider discipline of RE.
Major social changes, especially as a result the more multicultural nature of society, have raised important issues about the teaching of religion and the rational basis of different religious faiths. Challenges for Religious Education addresses and critically examines these changes and asks where religious education and Faith Schools fit within secular society and indeed whether there is still a place for them at all. Analysing what religious education could look like if it were considered from a wider 'world views' perspective that doesn't focus on a particular set of religious beliefs, this book considers the 'reasonableness' of holding a faith and therefore in teaching it; the ongoing tensions between faith and reason; arguments for and against the study of religious education; whether modern secular thought is itself an ideology; and the philosophical standpoints on the relationship between faith and reason. Linking faith and reason with the issue of whether religious education is truly necessary in a modern world, Challenges for Religious Education is a crucial read for anyone interested in the future of religious education teaching in a secular society.
The latest thinking in a range of major topics in religion. Includes specially commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading. The handbooks offer thorough introductions to topics in the discipline and are a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Healing Earth addresses select environmental challenges from an integrated scientific, moral, and spiritual perspective. This Living Text, Healing Earth is a curricular resource on environmental studies for teachers and students in institutions of higher education and secondary schools worldwide.
This Open Educational Resource (OER) aims to develop knowledge, understanding, skills, attitudes and values to enable young people to come to an understanding of religion and its relevance to life, relationships, society and the wider world.
This OER module offers an accessible introduction to the study of religions, exploring places, practices, texts and experiences. Religious traditions such as Christianity, Hinduism and Islam are explored in diverse geographical, cultural and historical contexts.