Referencing

Need help with referencing styles? Start with this helpful guide.

Webpage

Bibliography

Author Last name, First name. "Title of webpage". Website or organization. Accessed Month Day, Year. http://xxxxxxxxxxxxx.

Feagins, Lucy. "The Inimitable Mirka Mora". The Design Files. Accessed September 5, 2018. https://thedesignfiles.net/2018/08/interview-mirka-mora/

Footnote

First footnote

1. Lucy Feagins, "The Inimitable Mirka Mora," The Design Files, accessed September 5, 2018, https://thedesignfiles.net/2018/08/interview-mirka-mora/

Subsequent footnotes

2. Feagins, "The Inimitable Mirka Mora,"

Notes

  • If no individual author is identified, use the wider organization or website as the corporate author in the bibliography. The note can leave out the author and begin with the title.
  • Words in the titles and subtitles are caplitalised, except articles and prepositions
  • The author is inverted for the Bibliography but not for the footnotes
  • The second line of the Bibliography entry is indented
  • The first line of the Footnote entry is indented
  • The first footnote includes all of the publication information
  • Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author’s surname, the book title, and the page number(s)
  • If a webpage has numbered sections, these can be used in place of page numbers.
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Government or organisation reports

Bibliography

Name of Group/Organization or Last name, First name (if known). Title of Work. Place of Publication: Government Agency's name, Date of Publication. http://xxxxxxxxxxxx

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. Closing the Gap Prime Minister’s Report 2018. Canberra: Commonwealth of Australia, 2018. https://closingthegap.pmc.gov.au/sites/default/files/ctg-report-2018.pdf

Footnote

First footnote

1. Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Closing the Gap Prime Minister’s Report 2018 (Canberra: Commonwealth of Australia, 2018), 32. https://closingthegap.pmc.gov.au/sites/default/files/ctg-report-2018.pdf

Subsequent footnotes

2. Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Closing the Gap Prime Minister’s Report 2018, 47.

Notes

  • Use the government department responsible for the publication or report as the author.
  • The second line of the Bibliography entry is indented
  • The first line of the Footnote entry is indented
  • The first footnote includes all of the publication information
  • Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the organisation's name, the report title, and the page number(s)
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Conference papers

Bibliography

Author(s) last name, First name. "Paper Title". Paper presented at Name, Location and Date of Conference. Accessed Month, Day Year. http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Lindström, Niclas and Lars Samuelsson.  "Reason and Emotion: How Teachers Respond to Ethical Problems". Paper presented at Athens Institute for Education and Research, 2018. Accessed September 9, 2018. http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Footnote

First footnote

1. Niclas Lindström & Lars Samuelsson, "Reason and Emotion: How Teachers Respond to Ethical Problems" (paper presented at Athens Institute for Education and Research, 2018), 4, http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Subsequent footnotes

2. Lindström & Samuelsson, "Reason and Emotion", 7.

Notes

  • If the author's given name is provided, use the full name
  • Words in the titles and subtitles are caplitalised, except articles and prepositions
  • If the book is not a first edition, place the edition number after the title of the book, eg: Book Title. 2nd ed.)
  • The author is inverted for the Bibliography but not for the footnotes
  • The second line of the Bibliography entry is indented
  • The first line of the Footnote entry is indented
  • The first footnote includes all of the publication information
  • Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author’s surname, the book title, and the page number(s)
  • if conference paper is published as part of an edited volume, treat as a chapter in an edited book
  • Find month, place information on conference website for relevant year
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Statistics

Bibliography

Name of organisation. Title of Work. Cat. Catalogue Number. Place of publication. Date of publication. http://xxxxxxxxxxxx.

Australian Bureau of Statistics. Census of Population and Housing: Reflecting Australia - Stories from the Census, 2016. Cat. 2071.0. Canberra, June 28, 2017 , http://www.ausstats.abs.gov.au/ausstats/subscriber.nsf/0/19DA38C6B6AF5E9FCA25814B00030D2E/$File/snapshot%20of%20australia,%202016%20census%20data%20summary.pdf.

Footnote

First footnote

1. Australian Bureau of Statistics (hereafter ABS), Census of Population and Housing: Reflecting Australia - Stories from the Census, 2016, Cat. no. 2071.0, Canberra, June 28, 2017, 24, http://www.ausstats.abs.gov.au/ausstats/subscriber.nsf/0/19DA38C6B6AF5E9FCA25814B00030D2E/$File/snapshot%20of%20australia,%202016%20census%20data%20summary.pdf.

Subsequent footnotes

2. ABS, Census of Population and Housing, 13.

 

Notes

  • Acronyms for long organisational names can be used, if the acronym is added in brackets after first use (see example above)
  • More details on elements to include when citing different document types at Citing ABS sources (ABS website)
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Standards

Bibliography

Name of Standards Organization. Title of standard. Standard number or edition. Publisher name, Location of Publisher. http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Standards Australia. Guide for Managing Risk in Not-for-Profit Organizations. HB 266:2010. SAI Global: Sydney. http://www.saiglobal.com

Footnote

First footnote

1. Standards Australia. Guide for Managing Risk in Not-for-Profit Organizations. HB 266:2010 (SAI Global: Sydney), 24, http://www.saiglobal.com

Subsequent footnotes

2. Standards Australia. Guide for Managing Risk in Not-for-Profit Organizations, 37.