Referencing

Need help with referencing styles? Start with this helpful guide.

With doi

Bibliography

Surname, Firstname. "Title of Article". Journal Title Volume, Issue no. (Year): Page range. doi:xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Daley, Linda. “This Photograph, These People and the Invention of Australian Indigenous Art.” Third Text 24, no. 6 (2010): 665-679. doi:10.1080/09528822.2010.517915

In-text

First footnote

1. Linda Daley. “This Photograph, These People and the Invention of Australian Indigenous Art," Third Text 24, no. 6 (2010): p. 667, doi: 10.1080/09528822.2010.517915

Subsequent footnotes

2. Daley, "This Photograph, These People and the Invention of Australian Indigenous Art,” 670

Notes

  • If the author's given name is provided, use the full name
  • Words in the titles and subtitles are caplitalised, except articles and prepositions
  • The author is inverted for the Bibliography but not for the footnotes
  • The second line of the Bibliography entry is indented
  • The first line of the Footnote entry is indented
  • The first footnote includes all of the publication information
  • Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author’s surname, the article title, and the page number(s)
  • Access dates are not usually required unless there is no date of publication. 
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and bibliography format

Without doi

Bibliography

Surname, First name. "Title of Article." Journal Title Volume, Issue no (Year): Page range. url

Smith, Terry. "The State of Art History: Contemporary Art." Art Bulletin 92, no.4 (2010): 366-383. http://www.collegeart.org/artbulletin/current

In-text

First Footnote

1. Terry Smith, "The State of Art History: Contemporary Art," Art Bulletin 92, no.4 (2010): 369, http://www.collegeart.org/artbulletin/current

Subsequent Footnotes

2. Smith, " The State of Art History: Contemporary Art", 381

Notes

  • The first footnote contains all of the publication information
  • Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author's surname, the journal article title, and the page number(s)
  • If there is no volume number, use the issue number only (eg: Art Monthly Australasia, no.301)
  • Words in the titles and subtitles are caplitalised, except articles and prepositions
  • The first footnote includes all of the publication information
  • Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author’s surname, the book title, and the page number(s)
  • Access dates are not usually required unless there is no date of publication. 
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and bibliography format