Library guides: Referencing: Books & ebooks

Print book

Bibliography

Author Last name, First name. Title of Book. Location of publication: Publisher, year of publication.

Barrett, Terry. Why Is That Art? New York: Oxford University Press, 2017.

In-text

...as argued by Barrett.¹

First Footnote

¹Terry Barrett, Why Is That Art? (New York: Oxford University Press, 2017), 40.

Subsequent Footnotes

⁵ Barrett, Why Is That Art? 42.

Notes

If the author's given name is provided, use the full name
Words in the titles and subtitles are capitalized, except articles and prepositions
For authors who always use initials, full names should not be supplied, e.g. T. S. Eliot
Omit p. or pp. for page number/s except if needed to differentiate page numbers from other additional information e.g., p. 89, lines 135-36
If the book is not a first edition, place the edition number after the title of the book, eg: Book Title. 2nd ed.
The author is inverted for the Bibliography but not for the footnotes
The second line of the Bibliography entry is indented
The first line of the Footnote entry is indented
The first footnote includes all of the publication information
Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author’s surname, the book title, and the page number(s)
For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and bibliography format

Edited book

Bibliography

Editor Last name, First name, ed(s). Title of Book. Location of publication: Publisher, year of publication.

Lark, Jessica, ed. Why Are We ‘Artists’?: 100 World Art Manifestos. Harmondsworth, U.K.: Penguin, 2017.

In-text

... this is stated by Lark.⁴

First Footnote

⁴ Jessica Lark, ed., Why Are We ‘Artists’?: 100 World Art Manifestos (Harmondsworth, U.K.: Penguin, 2017), 217-19.

Subsequent Footnotes

³ Lark, Why Are We ‘Artists’?, 219.

Notes

If the editor's given name is provided, use the full name
Words in the titles and subtitles are capitalized, except articles and prepositions
Omit p. or pp. for page number/s except if needed to differentiate page numbers from other additional information e.g., p. 89, lines 135-36
If the book is not a first edition, place the edition number after the title of the book, eg: Book Title. 2nd ed.
The editor is inverted for the Bibliography but not for the footnotes
The second line of the Bibliography entry is indented
The first line of the Footnote entry is indented
The first footnote includes all of the publication information
Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author’s surname, the book title, and the page number(s)
For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and bibliography format

Chapter in an edited book

Bibliography

Chapter Author's Surname, First name. "Chapter Title." In Title of Book, edited by First name Last name, page number(s). Location of Publication: Publisher's Name, Year of Publication.

Simmons, J. Aaron. "Continental Philosophy." In The Oxford Handbook of the Epistemology of Theology, edited by William Abraham and Frederick Aquino, 564-77. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2017.

In-text

... this is stated by Simmons.²

First Footnote

² J. Aaron Simmons, "Continental Philosophy," in The Oxford Handbook of the Epistemology of Theology, ed. William Abraham and Frederick Aquino (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2017), 570.

Subsequent Footnotes

⁴ Simmons, "Continental Philosophy," 575.

Notes

If the author's given name is provided, use the full name
Words in the titles and subtitles are capitalized, except articles and prepositions
Cite specific page number/s in the note but include the page range of the chapter in the bibliography
Omit p. or pp. for page number/s except if needed to differentiate page numbers from other additional information e.g., p. 89, lines 135-36
If the book is not the first edition, place the edition number after the title of the book, eg: Book Title. 2nd ed
The author is inverted for the Bibliography but not for the Footnotes
The second line of the Bibliography is indented
The first line of the Footnote entry is indented
Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author's surname. the book title, and the page number(s)
For multiple authors, check the author layout table for in-text and Bibliography format

Ebook

Bibliography

With doi

Author Surname, First name. Title of book. Location of publication: Publisher, year of publication. https://doi.org/xxxxxxxxxx.

Rowland, Tracey. Catholic Theology. London: T&T Clark, 2017. https://doi.org/10.5040/9780567661807.

Without doi

Author Surname, First name. Title of book. Location of publication: Publisher, year of publication. https://xxxxxxxxxxxxx.

Westgeest, Helen. Video Art Theory: A Comparative Approach. West Sussex, U.K.: Wiley Blackwell, 2016. Ebook Central.

Braun, Virginia, and Victoria Clarke. Successful Qualitative Research: A Practical Guide for Beginners. London: Sage, 2013. Kindle.

In-text

... this is stated by Rowland.¹

First Footnote with doi

¹ Tracy Rowland, Catholic Theology (London: T&T Clark, 2017), 47, https://doi.org/10.5040/9780567661807.

Subsequent Footnotes with doi

³ Rowland, Catholic Theology, 78.

First Footnote without doi

¹Helen Westgeest, Video Art Theory: A Comparative Approach (West Sussex, U.K.: Wiley Blackwell, 2016), 118-19, Ebook Central.

Subsequent Footnotes without doi

³ Westgeest, Video Art Theory, 163.

Notes

If book is from a library database with no publicly accessible URL list the name of the database instead of URL e.g. EBSCOhost.
If the author's given name is provided, use the full name
Words in the titles and subtitles are capitalized, except articles and prepositions
Omit p. or pp. for page number/s except if needed to differentiate page numbers from other additional information e.g., p. 89, lines 135-36
If the book is not a first edition, place the edition number after the title of the book, eg: Book Title. 2nd ed.)
The author is inverted for the Bibliography but not for the footnotes
The second line of the Bibliography entry is indented
The first line of the Footnote entry is indented
The first footnote includes all of the publication information
Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author’s surname, the book title, and the page number(s)
For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and bibliography format

Chapter in an edited ebook

Bibliography

With doi

Chapter Author's Surname, First name. "Chapter Title." In Title of Book, edited by First name Last name, page number(s). Location of Publication: Publisher's Name, Year of Publication. https://doi.org/xxxxxxxxxxxxxx.

Assis, Tiago. "Maternal Language and Ict." In Art and Technology, edited by Luisa Menano and Patricia Fidalgo, 1-19. Rotterdam: Sense Publishers, 2017. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-94-6300-863-1.

Without doi

Oprescu, Florin. "The Power and Subversiveness of Literature." In Art and Intercultural Dialogue, edited by Susana Goncalves and Suzanne Majhanovich. 97-112. Rotterdam: Sense Publishers, 2016. https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007%2F978-94-6300-423-7.

In-text

... this is stated by Assis.¹

With doi - First Footnote

¹ Tiago Assis, "Maternal Language and Ict," in Art and Technology, ed. Luisa Menano and Patricia Fidalgo (Rotterdam: Sense Publishers, 2017) 110, https://doi.org/10.1007/978-94-6300-863-1.

Subsequent Footnotes

⁵Assis, "Maternal Language and Ict," 17.

Without doi - First Footnote

⁶ Florin Oprescu, "The Power and Subversiveness of Literature," in Art and Intercultural Dialogue, ed. Susana Goncalves and Suzanne Majhanovich (Rotterdam: Sense Publishers, 2016), 98.

Subsequent Footnotes

⁷ Oprescu, "The Power and Subversiveness of Literature," 100.

Notes

If the author's given name is provided, use the full name
Words in the titles and subtitles are capitalized, except articles and prepositions
Omit p. or pp. for page number/s except if needed to differentiate page numbers from other additional information e.g., p. 89, lines 135-36
If the book is not the first edition, place the edition number after the title of the book, eg: Book Title. 2nd ed
The author is inverted for the Bibliography but not for the Footnotes
The second line of the Bibliography is indented
The first line of the Footnote entry is indented
Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author's surname. the book title, and the page number(s)
For multiple authors, check the author layout table for in-text and Bibliography format

Encyclopedias & dictionaries

Bibliography

Author's surname, first name. Title edition number. Location of Publication: Name of Publisher, Year of Publication. https://doi.org/xxxxxxxxxxxx.

Browning, W. R. F. A Dictionary of the Bible. 2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010. https://doi.org/10.1093/acref/9780199543984.001.0001.

In-text

...according to Browning.¹

First Footnote

¹ W. R. F. Browning, "Obed" in A Dictionary of the Bible (Oxford University Press, 2010).

⁴ Merriam Webster S.V. "Crusade," accessed August 14th, 2008, https://www.merriam-webster.com.

Notes

Well known reference works, such as major dictionaries and encylopedias, are not cited in the Bibliography. They are cited in the Footnotes only
s.v. (sub verbo) means under the word
If there is no listed author, start the entry from the title
If the reference work is online, add the doi or the url
If the author of the entry is different from the author of the reference work, follow the guide for Chapter in an Edited Book
The second line of the bibliography is indented
The first line of the footnote entry is indented
For multiple authors, check the author layout table for in-text and Bibliography format