The Chicago Manual of Style covers two different styles of referencing: Notes and Bibliography and Author-Date. The Notes and Bibliography style is covered in this guide. It uses numbered footnotes.
Our examples are based on the following style guide: Chicago Manual of Style Online (CMOS 17) with particular reference to chapter 14. You can refer to the Citation Quick Guide sections of the Chicago Manual of Style Online for further guidance.
You can also use resources from the Academic Skills Unit on: referencing basics, Chicago referencing, academic integrity and academic writing to develop your skills. Workshops and consultations are also offered.
General Notes
- If the author's given name is provided, use the full name.
- Words in the titles and subtitles are capitalized, except articles and prepositions.
- If the book is not a first edition, place the edition number after the title of the book, e.g. Book Title. 2nd ed.
- The author is inverted for the bibliography but not for the footnotes.
- The second line of the bibliography entry is indented.
- The first line of the footnote entry is indented.
- The first footnote includes all of the publication information.
- Subsequent footnotes of the same source include only the author’s surname, the book title, and the page number(s).
- Numbers for in-text citation, footnotes and subsequent footnotes are in superscript.
- For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and bibliography format.
- Check the sample bibliography for guidance on the complete list.