Referencing

Need help with referencing styles? Start with this helpful guide.

Print book

Reference list

Author, A., & Author, B. (year). Title. Location of Publication: Publisher

Rana, D., & Upton, D. (2014). Psychology for nurses. London: Routledge.

In-text

(Hoffmann, Bennett & Del Mar, 2017).  or  (Hoffmann, Bennett & Del Mar, 2017, p.78).  or

Hoffmann, Bennett and Del Mar (2017), state that …

Notes

  • The title of the book is always in italics
  • Capitalise the first letter in the title, any proper nouns and the first letter of the title subheading
  • Direct quotes always require page numbers
  • The edition number is not in italics and follows the title
  • The second and subsequent lines of a citation in a reference list are indented
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Edited book

Reference list

Editor, A. A., & Editor, B. B. (Eds.). (year of publication). Title of book (X ed.). Location of publication: Publisher.

Liamputton, P. (Ed.). (2016). Research methods in health: Foundations for evidence-based practice (3rd ed.). South Melbourne, Vic.: Oxford University Press.

In-text

(Liamputton, 2016) or (Liamputton, 2016, p.16) or Liamputton (2016) states that . . .

Notes

  • Substitute the editor’s name for the author's name in the reference and add (Ed.). or (Eds.). for multiple editors
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Chapter in an edited book

Reference list

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (year of publication). Title of chapter. In A. Editor & B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (X ed., pp. xxx-xxx). Location of publication: Publisher.

Poed, S. (2015). The Australian educational landscape. In A. F. Ashman (Ed.), Education for inclusion and diversity (5th ed., pp. 35-64). Melbourne, Vic.: Pearson.

In-text

(Poed, 2015). or (Poed, 2015, pp. 36-38)

Notes

  • Use the chapter author/s in-text and as the first author/s in the reference list
  • The chapter title is not italicised
  • Enter any editor’s names with the initial first
  • Use p. for a single page and pp. for a page range in-text
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Ebook

Reference list

With doi

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (year of publication). Title of book (X ed.). doi:xxxx

Gray. T., & Mitten, D. (Eds.). (2018). The Palgrave international handbook of women and outdoor learning. doi:10.1007/978-3-319-53550-0

Without doi

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (year of publication). Title of book (X ed.). Retrieved from http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Hoffmann, T., Bennett, S., & Del Mar, C. (2017). Evidence-based practice across the health professions (3rd ed.). Retrieved from https://www.clinicalkey.com.au

ClinicalKey

Hoffmann, T., Bennett, S., & Del Mar, C. (2017). Evidence-based practice across the health professions (3rd ed.). Retrieved from https://www.clinicalkey.com.au

Ebook Central

Epstein, J.L. (2018). School, family, and community partnerships: Preparing educators and improving schools. Retrieved from https://ebookcentral.proquest.com

Ebsco

Kenner, C., & Lott, J.W. (2016). Neonatal nursing care handbook: An evidence-based approach to conditions and procedures (2nd ed.). Retrieved from http://web.a.ebscohost.com

In-text

(Gray & Mitten, 2018). or (Gray & Mitten, 2018, p.78). or Hoffmann, Bennett and Del Mar (2017) state that …

Notes

  • Ebooks have a doi or web address (URL) to replace the publication information in a reference
  • Include a doi if available. The doi is a unique "digital object identifier" assigned by the publisher
  • Use the URL of the database homepage
  • De-activate hyperlinks in the reference list
  • The in-text citation is the same as for a book
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Chapter in an edited ebook

Reference list

With doi

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (year of publication). Title of chapter. In A. Editor & B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. xxx-xxx). doi:xxxx

Allen-Craig, S., & Carpenter, C. (2018). Outdoor education: Threaded pathways to belonging. In T. Gray, & D. Mitten (Eds.), The Palgrave international handbook of women and outdoor learning (pp. 55-74). doi: 10.1007/978-3-319-53550-0_4

Without doi

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (year of publication). Title of chapter. In A. Editor & B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. xxx-xxx). Retrieved from http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Van Borsel, J. (2011). Cluttering and Down Syndrome. In D. Ward & K. Scaler-Scott (Eds.), Cluttering: A Handbook of Research, Intervention and Education (pp.90-99). Retrieved from http://ebookcentral-proquest-com

In-text

(Allen-Craig, & Carpenter, 2018, p. 56). or Allen-Craig and Carpenter (2018) demonstrate…

Notes

  • Incorporate a doi if available
  • If there is no doi use Retrieved from and the http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  • Cite the author/s of the chapter in-text and in the reference list
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format

Encyclopedias & dictionaries

Reference list

No author

Article or entry name. (year). In A. A. Editor (Ed.),Title of work. Retrieved from http://xxxxxxxxxxxxx or doi:xxx

Decompression. (2017). In E. Martin, & T. McFerran, (Eds.), A Dictionary of nursing (7th ed.). doi:10.1093/acref/9780198788454.001.0

With author

Davidson, T., & Porter, M. (2015). Eating disorders. In J. L. Longe (Ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of medicine (5th ed.). Retrieved from http://link.galegroup.com/apps/pub/9781410317391/GVRL?u=acuni&sid=GVRL

In-text

Decompression (2017) is defined as…

(Davidson & Porter, 2015). or Davidson and Porter (2015) defined ….

Notes

  • If the entry in a dictionary or encyclopedia does not have an author use the title of the entry e.g. diabetes
  • Add a doi or URL (http://xxxxxxxxxxxxx) if the resource is online
  • For multiple authors check the author layout table for in-text and reference list format