Key databases
- Religion & Philosophy CollectionFull text scholarly journals covering world religions, political/moral philosophy, biblical studies, religious history and epistemology.
- Philosophers Index with Full TextCovering ethics, aesthetics, social/political philosophy, metaphysic logic, philosophy of law, religion, science, history and language.
- PhilPapers - Philosophical Research OnlineComprehensive index of philosophy including journals, books and open access archives.
- Philosophy Documentation CenterTopics include applied ethics, philosophy, classics, religious studies and related disciplines.
- LOEB Classical LibraryMore than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts spanning eighteen centuries. Every genre with works by Aristotle, Hesiod, Plato and Herodotus.
- Past Masters SeriesPhilosophy & Religious Studies collections from Intelex Past Masters.
- Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, and CultureA collection of essays to serve as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience of students and non-specialists.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlinePhilosophy handbooks providing a good introduction to the subject. A useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Ejournals
- The Australian Journal of PhilosophyContains original articles and discussion notes in any area of philosophy
- Journal of Applied PhilosophyProvides a forum for philosophical research which seeks to make a constructive contribution to problems of practical concern.
- MindStarting publication in 1876, MIND covers philosophy in a variety of fields.
- NousRanges across the full breadth of philosophy and its history. No particular methodology is required.
- The Philosophical QuarterlyProvides articles from leading international scholars across the range of philosophical study
- The Philosophical ReviewThe journal aims to publish original scholarly work in all areas of analytic philosophy, with an emphasis on material of general interest to academic philosophers.
- Philosophy NowGreat resource for students, staff and general readers. Original philosophy written in a lively, readable and non-technical style.
- SophiaProvides forum/discussions in philosophy/religion. Covering areas: metaphysics, theological thinking, natural philosophy, critical feminist theology & cross-cultural perspectives.
Ebooks
This Is Philosophy by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780470658833Publication Date: 2012A written introduction to philosophical concepts that include ethics, the existence of God, free will, personal identity, philosophy of mind, and epistemology.
History of Western Philosophy by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780203487976Publication Date: 2004First published in 1946, History of Western Philosophy went on to become the best-selling philosophy book of the twentieth century.
Early Twentieth-Century Continental Philosophy by ISBN: 9780253005168Publication Date: 2011"An outstanding book that will serve as a fine supplement (and guide) to important primary texts in early twentieth-century continental philosophy" (Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews).
The Greeks Who Made Us Who We Are by ISBN: 9780786472734Publication Date: 2013This volume seeks to disclose two distinctive features of Western culture uniquely attributable to the ancient Greeks: A human-centered worldview that elevated humans to the threshold of divinity and a philosophical temperament which for the first time in history proffered the unbridled operation of the human mind as a kind of cultural imperative.
- Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and NamesA concise guide to technical terms and personal names encountered in the study of philosophy.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyEncyclopedia of Philosophy published by Stanford University.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of PhilosophyResource for researching, teaching and studying in the philosophy arena and related disciplines. Includes Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
- Credo ReferenceProvides encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books as well as images, audio files, and videos. Topic Pages offer a starting point and pathways for further research. The mind map feature shows the relationships between topics which include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, science and technology.
Podcasts
- King's College-History of PhilosophyPodcasts by Professor Peter Adamson (Ancient and Medieval Philosophy - Kings' College, London).