Mental health key databases
- PsycINFOThis is the primary database for mental health and psychology research.
- CINAHL CompleteComprehensive database of journal articles for nursing and allied health including mental health content.
- ClinicalKey for NursingA database which includes ebooks, ejournals, practice guidelines, videos, and drug information.
- Psychiatry OnlineThis is an authoritative source of psychology research including DSM-5.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences CollectionCoverage of all psychology & psychiatry, mental health, anthropology and experimental methods.
- PsycTESTSProvides summaries & full text of development and assessment tests and measures.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in PrintTesting instruments for all levels, novice to clinician, applicable to psychology, education, business & leadership.
Please note: A limited number of people can access this database at the same time. If you are having trouble gaining access, try again in a few minutes.
Diagnostic handbooks and manuals
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 byISBN: 0890425558
- Clinical Diagnosis and the DSM-5Search Kanopy using ‘Clinical Diagnosis and the DSM-5’ to locate videos showing real-life volunteer patients with actual psychiatric disorders. These resources lend a human face to psychiatric diagnosis.
- ICD-10A standard tool for clinical diagnosis from the World Health Organisation.
Psychiatric and Mental Health nursing by ISBN: 9780729587976With a key focus on specialist mental health nursing,, this book offers an introduction to the integration of mental health nursing knowledge and skills across a range of generalist and mental health clinical settings.
Essentials of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing by ISBN: 9780803676787Publication Date: 2020Davis Advantage for Essentials of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing provides the foundational knowledge students need to master psych content.
Mental health nursing : applying theory to practice by ISBN: 9780170387521Publication Date: 2019Mental health nursing: applying theory to practice is an Australian text combining a theoretical approach to mental health nursing with clinical reasoning and a practical framework for real-life nursing situations. The text includes the clinical manifestations, impacts, treatment and management of persons suffering from mental illness.
Images and videos
- KanopyStreaming media service with mental health video content.
- SMART imagebase
Collection of 11,000+ high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics. Users may download images for educational, non-commercial use in lectures, presentations, slide shows, web sites and more.
Websites
- Beyond BlueBeyondBlue is Australia's largest mental health service and has a vast array of information and services.
- Black Dog InstituteThe Black Dog Institute is dedicated to improving the lives of people affected by mood disorders such as depression and anxiety.
- The Butterfly FoundationSupporting people with eating disorders & body image issues.
- Mental Health resources - WHONews, fact sheets, commentaries and feature publications on mental healt,h compiled by the World Health Organisation.
- Domestic violence: issues and policy challengesParliament of Australia paper on the topic of domestic violence - contains a useful list of references
- Everymind: ProgramsEverymind works with Commonwealth and State governments, philanthropic organisations, research institutions, non-government organisations and businesses, to develop and roll-out innovative and effective mental health and suicide prevention programs.
- Family, domestic and sexual violence in AustraliaA report from the Australian Institute of Health & Welfare. A topic search on the AIHW website may also be of interest
- Head to HealthTo assist in finding Australian hand-picked resources from publicly funded providers.
- Mental Health Carer's AustraliaSupporting and promoting the well-being of mental health carers and their families.
- Mental health coordinating council: Recovery oriented language guide (PDF, 498KB)The Recovery Oriented Language Guide was developed because language matters in mental health. The guide expresses words that convey hope and optimism and that support, and promote a culture that supports, recovery.
- A national framework for the recovery-oriented mental health services : Guide for practitioners and providers (PDF, 2.1MB)National mental health strategy.
- National plan to reduce violence against women and their children 2010–2022 (PDF, 722KB)Council of Australian Governments paper.
- Nurse & Midwife Support: Your Health MattersA 24/7 national support service for nurses & midwives providing access to confidential advice and referral.
