Skip to main content
Australian Catholic University
Search this Guide
This research guide will provide you with starting points for finding information for midwifery.
Databases & Journal Articles
Dictionaries, Drug Guides & Handbooks
Video & Images
Key Journal Databases
A comprehensive source which provides full text to over 1,300 nursing and allied health journals.
ClinicalKey for Nursing incorporating Clinical Skills
Please note: users can access web versions of books and chapters but must register for an account with their ACU email in order to download PDFs or set up remote access
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, and the health care system
Evidence-based research to inform healthcare decision-making
Maternity & Infant Care Database (MIDIRS)
Maternity and Infant Care is an important resource for academics and healthcare professionals involved in the care of women and infant.
Archive of peer-reviewed articles from the British Journal of Midwifery
Major database that indexes evidence based medical and biomedical science journal articles, research data & pre-print publications. This is a free resource.
Try the 'findit@ACU’ links to search for full text access from our other subscriptions.
UpToDate® is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which medical personnel trust to make the right point-of-care decisions.
PsycINFO is a database of scholarly literature in the field of psychology. It is produced by the American Psychological Association and is useful for Mental Health Nursing.
Pregnancy and Breastfeeding Medicines Guide
Provides recommendations on medicine use in pregnancy and breastfeeding. Includes patient fact sheets.
Key Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Oxford Handbook of Midwifery (2011)
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions (2012)
Oxford Complete Medical Dictionary 8th Ed. (2010)
Key Web Resources
Births Australia ABS Data
Australian College of Midwives
Nursing & Midwifery Board of Austraia
Codes guidelines & accreditation
'Society of Obstetric Medicine of Australia and New Zealand
Guidelines and articles of interest
Three Centres Collaboration
The aim of the 3centres Collaboration is to improve the quality of maternity care services in Victoria by applying the best available evidence and expertise.
Midwifery Masterclass Videos
ACU produced midwifery videos.
Women and Birth Australia
Breastfeeding Review: Nursing Mothers Association of Australia
British Journal of Midwifery
MIDIRS Midwifery Digest
Databases & Journal Articles >>
Jul 3, 2018 11:32 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem