Linking to Library resources

This guide provides instructions on creating and sharing links to library resources

Overview

The following options are available for lecturers to create and share links to library resources (such as licensed ebooks, journal articles, and multimedia resources) with students in LEO. Instructions for locating permalinks in select databases are also available below.

Option 1. Create a Leganto reading list

The Library’s reading list system Leganto, allows lecturers to easily create links to library resources such as journal articles, books, eBooks, and videos. 

For information on how to create a Leganto reading list and embed in your LEO unit, refer to the Leganto Library Guide

Option 2. Share a permalink from Library Search

Using a permalink from Library Search (ACU Library's search engine) is a quick and easy way to link to Library content.

 

Option 3. Construct an ezproxy link

Ezproxy authenticates users as ACU staff or students, allowing access to the Library’s subscribed resources.

To create an ezproxy link, paste a DOI or a stable (persistent) link to library journal articles, ebooks etc. into the form below.

Most library databases have options available to create a stable URL to their online content.

Look for linking icons or for terms such as ‘DOI’, ‘Permanent URL’, 'Permalink', 'Bookmark URL', ‘Embed/Link', 'Document URL', ‘Share’, 'Deep Link' or 'Stable URL'.  Copy and paste the hyperlink into the form below and select 'Build link'.

Ezproxy Link Builder

STEP 2: Build stable link

 

 

This tool has been modified from http://www.deakin.edu.au/library/teach/direct-linking with the permission of Deakin University.

Persistent link example: If you paste the stable URL https://search.informit.com.au/documentSummary;res=IELHEA;dn=308977634220059 into the above generator the link becomes https://ezproxy.acu.edu.au/login?url=https://search.informit.com.au/documentSummary;dn=474816764608173;res=IELHEA  

DOI link examples: If you paste either 10.1007/s11422-017-9809-1 (the DOI), OR https://doi.org/10.1007/s11422-017-9809-1 (the DOI web address) into the above generator the link becomes https://ezproxy.acu.edu.au/login?url=https://doi.org/10.1007/s11422-017-9809-1

Database Instructions

Permanent links and/or DOIs are easy to find in most library databases. Look for linking icons or for terms such as DOI, Permanent URL, Permalink, Bookmark URL, Embed/Link, Deep Link, Document URL, Share or Stable URL.  

Instructions are provided below for the databases below where locating a permalink can be a bit harder.

Navigate to the video you require in the database.

Copy and paste the browser URL (e.g. https://aclandanatomy.com/MultimediaPlayer.aspx?multimediaId=10528179) into the Ezproxy Link Builder above to create an off campus link.

Note: Emailed links from this database expire after 5 days.

  1. Conduct a search in the database.
  2. Locate the article, paragraph or case you wish to link to and click on the title to open.
  3. At the top of the document window, click on the "Save/Email" drop-down menu and select "Save link to document".
  4. Copy the URL in the dialogue box.
  5. Paste this URL into the Ezproxy Link Builder above.

The Library recommends using Leganto, or Library Search permalinking options (listed above) to link to individual Clinical Key titles.

If you wish to deep link directly to Clinical Key titles in your LEO unit, consult the durable link list provided by Clinical Key. Add the library proxy using the Ezproxy Link Builder above to ensure off-campus access. Note: Clinical Key durable links are updated regularly.

To link to entire book:

  • Click on 'Share Link to Book' on the left side panel.
  • Highlight and copy the URL that appears for use in documents, LEO, etc.

To link to book chapter:

  • Click on the chapter that you want to link to from the Table of Contents.
  • Click on the 'Share Link' icon on the top of the screen.
  • Highlight and copy the URL that appears for use in documents, LEO, etc.
  1. Click on the title of the article to view the full text.
  2. Then select 'Search' from the top black menu bar and click on 'Direct Link'.
  3. Add the following EZproxy prefix to the front of the copied URL: https://ezproxy.acu.edu.au/login?url=
  4. Add the following ACU suffix to the end of the URL &xsid=S003WvfMDAn5DEu5DEnMD2vMDYpNTJyMHn0Yq YvMq382rbRQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFB QUFBQUFBQUFBQQAA
  1. Check that the article you want to link to has full text available. If using TVNews you can link to a video
  2. Click on 'Complete Record' (if there is no Complete Record link, use the URL that appears in the 'To cite this article' section. Remember to remove the < and > from the URL).
  3. Highlight and copy the URL that appears in the 'Full Text' or 'TVNews' fields for use in documents, LEO, etc.

Link to a Kanopy streamed video.

  1. Find the video you want to link to.
  2. Click on the image or title of the video.
  3. Copy the URL that is in the address bar of your browser. This is a persistent URL and is specific for Kanopy resources available to ACU. Your final URL will look something like this: https://acu.kanopy.com/video/one-birth-time

Embed a Kanopy streaming video into your LEO unit

  1. Find the Kanopy video you want to embed.
  2. Click on the image or title of the video.
  3. Click on Share, then select the Embed button.
  4. Click Options to choose the size of the video required.
  5. Copy the entire embed code provided in the box.
  6. Your embed code will look something like this:
    <iframe allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="390" mozallowfullscreen="" src="https://acu.kanopy.com/embed/212042" webkitallowfullscreen="" width="640">>
  7. Find the area of your LEO unit you want to add the embedded video.
  8. Click Turn Editing On.
  9. Click Add an activity or resource.
  10. Choose the Resource type 'Label' and then click Add.
  11. In the Label text area, click on the Toolbar Toggle icon (first icon) to see all toolbars. If you have clicked this icon previously, all available toolbars will be visible by default - skip to the next step.
  12. Click on the Edit HTML Source icon.
  13. Copy the entire embed code (with added 's' to https) and paste into the HTML source editor box. Click Update.
  14. Click Save and return to unit.
  15. Note: Many Kanopy videos have transcripts. If the video you want does not have a transcript you can contact Kanopy to request one.

Link to a resource on LexisAdvance:

  1. Click on the 'Actions' drop down link next to the document name at the very top of the page
  2. Select 'Link to this page'.
  3. Paste this URL into the Ezproxy Link Builder above.
  1. Find the exact name of the drug that you want to link to. This will become the search term within the URL.
  2. Build the direct link with the Ezproxy prefix first: https://ezproxy.acu.edu.au/login?url=
  3. Add the base URL: https://www.micromedexsolutions.com/micromedex2/librarian/deeplinkaccess?SearchTerm=
  4. For multiple words, use a plus symbol (+) for spaces between words. Example: Donepezil+Hydrochloride

Your final URL should look something like this (note - URL contains no breaks or spaces): https://ezproxy.acu.edu.au/login?url=https://www.micromedexsolutions.com/micromedex2/librarian/deeplinkaccess?SearchTerm=Donepezil+Hydrochloride

  1. Click on the Abstract/Details tab of the article you want to link to.
  2. Copy the URL from the 'Document URL' field.
  3. Paste this URL into the Ezproxy Link Builder above.

Once you have located the video you wish to use, copy the URL address from your Internet browser window and paste into the Ezproxy Link Builder above.

  1. Go to Videatives and select the tab near the top of the page that says 'My playlists'.
  2. Select link near the bottom of page 'Create a new playlist'.
  3. Create a playlist - give it a name, for example 'Teaching' and also tick the box that says 'Public'.
  4. Click 'Create'.
  5. Go back to the home page and click on the title of the video you want to link to. Under the video on the left hand side, you will see a box that says 'Add this video to a playlist'.
  6. Select your playlist name from the drop down and then click 'Add to playlist'
  7. Go back to the tab 'My playlists', select the playlist and click on the 'Share' option.
  8. A URL will appear, and copy and paste this URL into the Ezproxy Link Builder above.

Further Help

Contact your Librarian if you have any queries.