Library guides: Law: International and foreign law

Legal encyclopedia

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL)
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) is a comprehensive online resource containing over 1,700 peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law.

Oxford Public International Law
A comprehensive single location providing integrated access across Oxford's international law services. Includes the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Oxford Oxford Reports on International Law and Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law.
Oxford Reports on International Law
Covers public international case law, reporting on international courts, domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. Case reports contain the full text of each decision, headnote, as well as analytical commentary and English translations of a number of key non-English decisions.
HeinOnline
Relevant international law content within Hein include: Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP),The United Nations Law Collection which includes International Court of Justice documents, UNCITRAL, UNIDIRR, ITLOS documents and the World Treaty Library.

International Law Library (WorldLII)
The International Law Library includes both the International Treaties Collection (27 Databases) and the International Courts and Tribunals Collection (38 Databases) amongst its 76 databases.
Other key materials include the UN General Assembly Resolutions, 7 specialised international law journals and Law Reform publications and journal articles concerning international and humanitarian law.
Go to Global > All Countries to access individual country LII sites or for over 30 countries see the bottom of the WorldLII homepage: eg CanLII (Canada) or SAFLII (Southern Africa).

International Court of Justice
The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations (UN).
International Criminal Court
The International Criminal Court (ICC) is an independent international organisation, and is not part of the United Nations system. The Rome Statute entered into force on 1 July 2002 after ratification by 60 countries. The Legal Tools Database is available via this website.
The Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH)
The Conference website presents general information concerning the Hague Conference as well as detailed and updated information on the Hague Conventions: texts of the Conventions, full status reports, bibliographies, information regarding the authorities designated under the Conventions on judicial and administrative co-operation, explanatory reports, etc.

Kluwer Arbitration
Full text materials in the field of international commercial arbitration. Includes conventions, legislation, rules, case law, and commentary.
Lexis Advance US Research
Contains US, international & other jurisdictions, case law, legislation & secondary sources including journals & law reviews. US federal & state case law, & the Shephard's Citator service, federal public laws & the United States Code Service, as well as state codes, federal & state registers & state constitutions.
From 8th October 2024, all emailed, downloaded and printed content generated through Lexis Advance® and Lexis+® will include a watermark stating, "For Academic Use Only". Please note that this watermark will not be visible when sharing your screen during lectures. This change is part of our ongoing commitment to fostering a responsible use of our platforms and in accordance with our institutional guidelines.

International Human Rights Guide
See the human rights guide for international and regional courts and databases on human rights.
Human Rights Guide (General, non-law specific)
Includes links to Australian and International human rights pages and data sets

United Nations Website
United Nations Treaty Series
UN collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the Secretariat since 1946.
The League of Nations Treaty Series is also available from this page.
UN Research Guides
Subject Guides by the UN Library for researching UN documentation and subjects.
United Nations Official Document System
The ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents.
UN OHCHR Juris Database
United Nations, Office of the High Commissioner of Human Rights database. It facilitates access to decisions on individual complaints on human rights violations.

Introduction to Public International Law Research (GlobaLex - New York University School of Law)
This guide is intended as an introduction to public international law and to help researchers find the most used sources and materials in the area with a primary focus on electronic research. This Guide provides links to other guides to public international law research.
Public International Law (Bodleian Law Library Oxford University)
This Guide provides links to numerous free, as well as subscription, resources on topics including Treaties, the United Nations (UN), International Organisations (IO) and Non-Government Organisations (NGO), Human Rights, Intervention and Protection and others.