Legal encyclopedias
- Employment: Halsbury's Laws of Australia (Lexis+)The title employment states the law of the formation, operation and termination of contracts of employment. It includes the rights and duties of employee and employer and the liabilities to third parties arising from the employment relationship. Also included are statutory provisions which modify the employment contract concerning redundancy and reinstatement, leave entitlements, anti-discrimination and employees’ rights.
- Banking and Finance: Halsbury’s Laws of Australia (Lexis+)The title banking and finance states the law that regulates authorised deposit-taking institutions and fiscal bodies, including electronic and international banking. Including: the law of banker and customer, the law in relation to money and credit cards, the law pertaining to Mareva orders, letters of credit and foreign currency.
CCH InteliConnect: Business law database
- CCH iKnowConnectSections include:Bankruptcy and Insolvency Law, Business Law, Companies and Securities Law, Corporate Governance and Compliance Law, Superannuation and Financial Planning.
Titles include: Australian Bankruptcy Act, Legislation, Forms and Determinations -- Understanding Business Contracts -- Australian Insolvency Management Practice Commentary and Releases -- Australian Customs Legislation, Duty Commentary -- Annotated Personal Properties Securities Act, Commentary and Legislation -- ASIC Releases Premium -- Australian Commercial Law tracker -- Australian Company Law Cases Premium, Commentary Premium, Form Library -- Australian Corporate Practice Manual and Checklists -- Australian Corporation and Securities Legislation, Bills and Commentary -- Australian Corporations Act Partner Premium -- Australian Corporations Court Rules -- Australian Corporations Legislation -- Australian Managed Investments Law and Practice Commentary, Legislation, Releases -- Australian Personal Property Securities Cases, Commentary, Legislation -- Australian Proprietary Companies Guide -- ASX Listing Rules, Commentary, Guidance Notes -- NZ Company Law and Practice Cases, Legislation, Commentary, Forms and Tracker -- Australian Corporate Practice Manual, Director's Manual, Legal Compliance -- Australian Public Sector Governance -- Australian Financial Planning Navigator, Tracker -- Australian Master Superannuation Guide, Cases, Commentary and Legislation - CCH iKnowConnectSections include: Duties and Levies, GST, Tax, Worldwide Tax
Tax Titles include: Duties/Stamp Duty Legislation, Releases, Rulings and Commentary for all states -- Australian GST and Relevant Tax Cases -- Australian GST Bills, Commentary, Legislation, Rulings, Tracker -- Practitioner's Guide -- Transactions and Precedents -- Australian Master GST Guide -- Payroll Tax Commentary, Legislation, Rulings for all states -- Australian FBT Commentary, Legislation, Rulings, Tracker -- Australian Federal Tax Reporter (Cases), Legislation, Rates and Tables -- Australian Income Tax Bills, Guide, Legislation -- Australian International Tax Agreements Commentary, Tracker -- Australian Payroll Tax Comparative Tables and Administration, Index and New Developments -- Australian Premium Master Tax Guide -- Australian Premium Tax Navigator -- Australian Prvate Rulings: Selected Case Studies -- Australian Tax Casebook -- Australian Tax Cases, Monitor, Navigator for Business Activities, Office Rulings -- International Tax Planning - expatriates and migrants -- Worldwide Business Tax Guide - CCH iKnowConnectSections include: Employment and HR, Industrial Relations, Discrimination.
Titles include: Australian Employment Case Roundup -- Australian Employment Legislation -- Australian Employment Tracker -- Australian Industrial Law Reports -- Australian Labour Law Reporter -- Australian Master Human Resources Guide -- Australian Research Manual of Industrial Law -- Australian Understanding the Fair Work Act.
Key case and legislation resources
- Westlaw AUBanking and Commercial related includes Ford and Lee: The Law of Trusts, Banking and Finance Reports of Australia, Law Relating to Banking and Customer, Company and Securities Law Journal, Australian Tax Review.
- Lexis +Business and Commercial related content includes Business Law of Australia, Australian Corporation Law Legislation, Australian Corporation Law Principles and Practice, Australian Corporate Practice, Australian Journal of Corporate Law, Australian Corporate Practice Bulletin, Australian Corporation and Securities Reports, Butterworths Corporations Law Bulletin, Australian Banking and Finance Law Bulletin, Financial Services Newsletter, Australian Journal of Labour Law, Employment Law Bulletin.
- Practical Guidance (access via Lexis+)There are many of these "how-to"guides that cover this area. The guides are on:
Banking and Finance; Business; Corporations; Employment; General Council; Governance; Tax
Other primary and secondary resources
- Australian Employment and Labour Law Library (AustLII)This Library includes databases of Australian labour and employment law accessible via AustLII. It includes a complete collection of the Commonwealth Arbitration Reports.
- Australian Taxation Library (AustLII)This Library includes databases of Australian taxation law accessible via AustLII. It includes a complete collection of the Tax Office Rulings and Determinations.