EndNote provides a number of ways to organise your References into groups. All References is a permanent group. Groups are displayed in the pane on the left side of the main display screen.
Group set - create Groups and sub-Groups of References
Individual References deleted from a Group will still appear in the All References group. Deleting a Reference from the All References group it will delete all instances of the Reference in your EndNote Library.
Smart Group - automatically adds new references to selected groups using a search criteria
Smart groups can be distinguished from other groups by the magnifying glass icon next to them.
When direct export is unavailable, filters can be used to import references into EndNote by converting them into an EndNote compatible format. Extra filters are available to download from the EndNote website.
MAC users - Select your required filter, control-click and choose Save Linked File to "Downloads". The filter will now appear in your "Downloads". Drag the filter file into your Filters folder. Located HD:Applications:EndNote:Filters.
In order to share your library you will need to:
Who can I share my library with?
Anyone who has EndNote X8, wherever they are located. All users will have Read-Write access to the entire library, references, attachments, pdf annotations, group sets and groups. There is unlimited storage for file attachments in your EndNote Online library.
You are able to share your references from your Endnote Library with other Endnote users, however Library staff recommend you do not share attachments with other non-ACU Endnote users. Sharing of attachments potentially violates copyright law and licence agreements between the Library and database providers.
How many libraries can I share?
You can share one library from your Mac or Windows desktop with 100 others. The library that you share will also be the library that you can access online at my.endnote.com or on your iPad using the EndNote for iPad app. There is no limit to the number of libraries that can be shared with you by others.
Can I access a shared library from anywhere?
If you are the one who shared the library, you have access to this library on your desktop, online, or on your iPad. If you have been invited to access someone else’s library, you can only access this library from your desktop.
How do I share my library with someone?
Just go to File > Share or select the Share icon and enter the email addresses of people to share with. Invitations will be sent out and must be accepted. Since sharing relies on sync services, all users accessing the library must have an EndNote online account connected with their desktop version of EndNote X8.
What if I no longer want to share my library?
You can easily control access to your library from your desktop version of EndNote X8. Add or remove individual access by going to File > Share.
How to access your shared library?
Go to File > Open Shared Library.
Never store an EndNote working library on any cloud service such as Dropbox for sharing, or even for your own use on multiple computers. This will lead to library corruption because of the way cloud services synchronise files over the internet.
Also, never store a working library on a flash drive. When you are working in EndNote, it is saving data to multiple files, and the data must be saved in a set sequence. When cloud services transfer that data, they may change the sequence of file saves. This eventually leads to library corruption. The library may appear to be fine for days, weeks, or even months, but will eventually be corrupted.