Skip to main content

Databases A-Z

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription. Let us know what you think by completing our feedback form.
Trial
Trial active until 25 September 2020.
Agriculture was the dominant American business in the 18th and 19th centuries. It fuelled the social and economic engine that built the United States and generated its state and local governments. Farming also stimulated and regulated pioneering, land tenure and commodities trading. In addition, the country’s agrarian history was crucial in defining the national character and the cultural values and mores of Americans.
Trial
Trial active until 25 September 2020.
The only collection of its kind, American Business: Mercantile Newspapers provides statistics-laden content from nearly 500 papers in a genre spawned by the rapid growth of shipping and international trade. Targeting wealthy merchants, professionals, and the educated elite, mercantile papers often were voluminous with a very large format, making production and subscription expensive. Much of the included information is unavailable elsewhere.
Trial
Trial active until 25 September 2020.
The collection provides more than 100 gazettes, or “newspapers of record,” all of which complied with prevalent town and city government requirements in the 18th and 19th centuries to publish official information. Their pages were rich with vital coverage of meetings, legal actions, notices, laws and the like. The intention was to give the community an opportunity to read these important documents and to better inform public action or comments. Over time, the gazettes evolved to refer to papers widely considered authoritative less by virtue of legal authority than through influence earned from journalistic quality and accuracy.
Trial
Trial active until 25 September 2020.
The first and only collection of American papers solely covering specific political campaigns and issues—provides detailed primary-source documentation of the issues, arguments and opposing viewpoints that shaped 19th-century U.S. political history. Encompassing more than 300 papers published from 1803 to 1876 across more than 30 states, this one-of-a-kind resource offers essential core materials for teaching and researching American political history and related fields.
Trial
Trial active until 25 September 2020.
Religion was the epicentre of nearly everything in the 19th century, dubbed the age of religion. It was a dominant cultural and social force, shaping views on slavery, politics, westward expansion and other great issues of the day. Religious belief was almost universal, and the Second Great Awakening (1800-1830) brought many new denominations—each with their own newspapers.
Trial
Trial active until 25 September 2020.
The appearance of the terms “licentious” and “licentiousness” in American periodicals rose dramatically in the early 1840s, in tandem with the origins of these unruly urban newspapers collectively called the Flash Press. One of the earliest titles in this unique, rare, and short-lived form of journalism was William J. Snelling’s New York City newspaper, The Flash, which inspired scores of copycat papers.
Trial
Trial active until 25 September 2020.
One of Ohio’s largest and most influential newspapers for the latter half of the 19th century, the Cleveland Leader offers fresh insight into the history of the Buckeye State. From Ohio’s role in the American Civil War to its industry, education and politics through the Gilded Age and Progressive Era, the Leader reported on the issues that helped shape Cleveland and beyond. Through illustrations, editorials, advertisements, classifieds and more, it also shed light on nearly every aspect of everyday life in Ohio in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Trial
Trial active until 25 September.
Often printed by small-town printers, early American newspapers documented the daily life of hundreds of diverse American communities, supported different political parties and recorded both majority and minority views. This growing digital collection of early American newspapers is the most extensive resource of its kind. With thousands of titles from all 50 states and the District of Columbia, Early American Newspapers provides an unparalleled record of the topics, people, issues and events that have shaped America for nearly three centuries.
Trial
Trial active until 31 December 2020.
Provide a high level of analytical coverage of constitutional law topics in a comparative context. MPECCoL articles address a focused range of topics that provide the best coverage of the essence, character, development, and history of constitutional law from a global perspective.
Trial
Trial active until 30th September 2020.
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century.
New
First published in 1910 in New York, Russkoe slovo (Russian Word) initially carried pro-Communist leaning before undergoing nominal and ideological changes a decade later. Under the new name Novoe russkoe slovo (New Russian Word), the newspaper shed its pro-Communist sympathies and established itself as the premier newspaper of the Russian émigré community in New York and beyond.
Trial
Trial active until 31 December 2020
Oxford Constitutions of the World (OCW) is the only resource to contain fully-translated English-language versions of all the world's constitutions (both national and sub-national), accompanied by individual jurisdictional commentaries, and supplementary materials, including foundation documents, historical versions of constitutions, and amendment Acts/Laws.
Trial
Trial active until 31 December 2020
Provides practitioners, scholars, and students with instant access to classic as well as more obscure materials on the law of international organisations
New
Provides easy online access to ACU subscribed standards.
Please note: You will need to install the FileOpen plug in (http://plugin.fileopen.com/) to view and download documents. You may also need to update Adobe Acrobat. This resource has 2 concurrent user licenses, so a limited number of people can access this database at the same time. If you are having trouble gaining access, try again in a few minutes. We recommend using Microsoft Edge or Firefox to access.
title
Loading...