Skip to main content

Research Impact

This guide outlines the resources and support available for ACU researchers to track their research impact.

Journal Analyzer in Scopus

To analyse and compare journals you can use the Journal Analyser tool in the Scopus Database. Scopus Journal Analyser will chart SCImago Journal Rank (SJR), Source Normalised Impact Per Paper (SNIP)Impact per Paper, Citations, Documents, percentage not cited and percentage of reviews.

Advantages of the Scopus Journal Analyser:

  • Scopus journal metrics are updated every two months compared to annually for the Journal Impact Factor from Web of Knowledge/Thompson Reuters. 

  • Scopus covers more than 18,000 journals spread across the Social Sciences and Humanities, Sciences, Technology, and Medicine. 

Caveats to Journal Analyser

Scopus Journal Analyser does not have complete citation information for articles published prior to 1996. Four hears of data are necessary to calculate a SCImago Journal Rank or Source Normalised per Paper. Because Scopus records data starting in 1996, the first year available for a SJR or SNIP is 1999.‚Äč

Comparing journals using Scopus Journal Analyser

1. Go to Scopus Database and follow Compare Journals link

2. Search for journal by Journal Title, ISSN or Publisher. You may wish to limit by Subject Area.

3. Select up to 10 journals that you wish to compare. They will appear on the comparison chart.

 

CiteScore

CiteScore is a set of journal metrics produced by Elsevier and calculated using citation data from Scopus.

A journal's CiteScore represents the average number of citations received in the CiteScore year (e.g. 2015), by papers published in the the three preceding years (e.g. 2012, 2013, and 2014).

Sample CiteScore calculation.

A CiteScore calculation includes all document types (research articles, review articles, conference proceedings, editorials errata, letters, notes and short surveys). CiteScore data is updated yearly.

View CiteScore metrics on Scopus or though Elsevier's Journal Metrics website. 

Please note: The CiteScore metric cannot be used to compare journals across different disciplines. Use Journal impact measures together with other metrics as a single number does not provide a comprehensive picture.

SCImago Journal Rank (SJR)

The SCImago Journal Rank measures journal prestige. Journals are ranked in the order of the “average prestige per article,” which is based on (1) the citations that the journal receives and (2) the prestige of the journals that are being cited within the published articles. This ranking can help with journal comparison.

The data for the calculations is drawn from the Scopus Database and includes citations from the last three years.

Source Normalized Impact per paper (SNIP)

Citation practices can vary significantly from one field to another. The SNIP measure corrects for such differences, that is it normalises for subject differences. 

"SNIP is derived by taking a journal's citation count per papper and dividing it by the citation potential in its subject field."

Scopus. (2016, September 13). Journal Metrics in Scopus: Sourced Normalized Impact Per Paper [Weblog post]. Retrieved May from http://bit.ly/2daf0qK 

The data for the calculations is drawn from the Scopus Database and includes citations from the last three years.