Skip to main content

Research Impact

This guide outlines the resources and support available for ACU researchers to track their research impact.

Citations within books

Use these databases to search across the full text of books (only those included in the database in full text) to find citations within books. This works best when you are looking for citations of a book or article which has a unique title, or the author has a unique name.

Citations in theses

PhD and Masters theses can be considered scholarly citations. Locate theses citations in Google Scholar. Search for the title of your publication, theses may appear in the citations listed in Google Scholar. These will generally be housed in university Institutional Repositories.

Check for library holdings of the book

Use these databases to find out how many libraries hold your book, as an indication of the impact of the book.

  • WorldCat (OCLC) - search portal for over 10,000 libraries worldwide
  • Trove - National Library of Australia service that includes access to Australian theses.

Has the book been cited?

The Web of Science Book Citation Index  includes book and chapter citation data from selected publishers. The Book Citation module can be searched separately or together with the other WoS indexes. 

  •  Science edition (2005 - present)
  •  Social Sciences & Humanities edition (2005 - present)

The Scopus database includes 50,000 books and edited books. The Scopus content lists include a listing of the books indexed. To check how many times a book has been cited in Scopus:

  • search by title and author
  • to display records for books which are not indexed in Scopus but appear in references, click on view secondary documents

Has the book been reviewed?

  • Factiva - full text access to Australian and International newspapers.
  • Google Books - enter the author's name, title or title keywords and Review.
  • JSTOR - Select Advanced Search, enter words from the title, then select Reviews in Narrow By area
  • Project Muse - Enter search terms and under Type of Content select Reviews
  • Web of Science - Select Cited Reference Search, enter the author name in the Cited Author box, the first words of the book title in the Cited Work box. When results display, select all then refine to Book Review for the document types drop down list.
  • Scopus