Skip to main content
Australian Catholic University
Search this Guide
This research guide will provide you with starting points for finding information on paramedicine.
Databases & Journal Articles
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Drug Guides & Handbooks
Video & Images
PubMed from the National Library of Medicine indexes evidence based medical and biomedical science Journal Articles, research data & pre-print publications.
CINAHL is the world’s most comprehensive database for evidence based for journal articles and research for nursing & allied health.
UpToDate® is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which medical personnel trust to make the right point-of-care decisions.
Authoritative medical information covering medicine, nursing, the health care system and pre-clinical sciences and more.
Evidence-based resources including; Cochrane reviews, systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
Provides access to essential information on over 4,500 prescription and non-prescription drugs, full medicines information, product images and consumer medicines information.
Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science provides access to leading scholarly literature and research in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
PsycINFO is a database of abstracts of literature in the field of psychology. It is produced by the American Psychological Association and is useful for Mental Health.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
SPORTDiscus is a databases of scholarly literature about all sport, physical fitness, sports medicine, sports science, exercise science, nutrition, health, and injury prevention & rehabilitation.
British Medical Journal
Medical Journal of Australia.
Annals of Emergency Medicine
Australasian Journal of Paramedicine
Prehospital and Disaster Medicine
Key drug guides and handbooks
eTG Complete - Therapeutic Guidelines
Therapeutic Guidelines contains drug and medication information organised by therapeutic groups. *4 concurrent user limit.
State and Territory links
ACT Ambulance Service
Ambulance Service of New South Wales
NSW Government Department of Health website
St John Ambulance Australia (NT)
Queensland Ambulance Service
SA Ambulance Service
Clinical Practice Guidelines
Ambulance Victorian Paramedics are supported in their clinical practice with access to clinical practice guidelines (CPGs).
Department of Health & Human Services (DHHS)
To Integrate health and human services policies, programs and services to improve the wellbeing of all Victorians.
St John Ambulance Western Australia
National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
Center for Pediatric Emergency Medicine
The Australian Resuscitation Guidelines
Learn to read ECGs
Interactive cases combine clinical history with an ECG and the interactive step-wise learning method. At the end of each case there are questions for you to consider and links to the theory helping you learn ECGs in a clinical context.
Databases & Journal Articles >>
Feb 1, 2017 12:37 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem