Skip to main content

Law Journals

Law journals searching for law journal articles databases

Law Journals Guide: Contents

What are law journals?
Journals are published regularly (monthly, quarterly) and contain articles. Articles may report on recent research, provide commentary and analysis of case law, legislation or law reform proposals or provide an historical analysis of an area of law.

The ACU Library subscribes to 1,000's of law ejournals.

To navigate this guide please use the links below:

Finding Law Journals (titles): eJournals @ACU

  • Searching for a law journal article? Need the full text?
  • Do you know the journal title? eg Australian Law Journal,  Harvard Law Review
  • Use the A-Z eJournal list to search or browse for a journal title.

Accessing the FULL TEXT

(i) Some database provide direct access to the FULL TEXT of the article, usually in PDF, if not

(ii)  Use the Find it button to click through to a list of databases that provide the FULL TEXT, or

(iii) If the FULL TEXT is not accessible via (i) or (ii) then search for the journal title using the A-Z eJournals List.  Then follow the links to the online platform eg LexisNexisAU, Lexis.com, Westlaw AU or Westlaw International to access the full text of the journal.

Law Society Journals

Law Society of New South Wales: Society website

Law Institute of Victoria: Institute website

Legal Abbreviations

Find the meaning of law journal and law report abbreviations, for example:

Australian Law Journal

QB - Law Reports, Queen's Bench

Citing journal articles

Citing journal articles using AGLC3:
AGLC3  >   Part III Secondary Sources  >> 4. Journal Articles 

Contact

For further information and assistance please contact:

Lesley Adukonu
Liaison Librarian (Law) | North Sydney
T: +61 2 9739 2686    E:  Lesley.Adukonu@acu.edu.au

 

Kate Freedman
Liaison Librarian (Law) | Melbourne
T: +61 3 9953 3536    E: kate.freedman@acu.edu.au

Searching for Journal Articles

Image source: Internet search. Photography. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. Web. 3 May 2016. http://quest.eb.com/search/132_1307553/1/132_1307553/cite

Image source: Internet search. Photography. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. Web. 3 May 2016. http://quest.eb.com/search/132_1307553/1/132_1307553/cite

Searching: Use the following databases to search for law journal articles and access the full text.